The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

Shopping is My Cardio June 27, 2009

This is perhaps my #1 reason why I love Carrie Bradshaw, Sex and the City + SJP so much :).

After work, I cruised home jai hoing and listening to the stellar beats of the “Slumdog Millionaire” CD.  Suddenly, I knew exactly what I wanted for dinner – INDIAN!

CIMG3851

I picked up my all-time fave Indian eats – Baingan Bhartha (eggplant mashed with tomatoes & spices) – and devoured this delicious dish along with a side of whole wheat tandoori roti on the glorious outside deck of my friend Megan’s house.  I ate all of the Baingan Bhartha & roti and none of the rice (it was nothing special).

After dindin, Meg & I went shopping at the mall squeezed in our cardio.  But not before we made a quick stop to enjoy a treat just because it tastes oh so good

CIMG3852

Dairy Queen Krunch Cone anyone?  It’s Mama Everythingtarian’s fave, and one of mine too!  Lots of nummy sprinkles, crunchy peanut bites and rice krispies on a vanilla cone.

The night also included a 2nd trip to Tarjay (oops!) where I picked up some much-needed bananas + yogurt, but seriously dudes, my fridge and pantry are bare bones.  Otherwise, I was a good girl and didn’t buy anything else at the mall.  Although, I was tempted by a new pair of running shoes :).  Meg & I got in some lovely friend bonding last night before she headed off for a weekend at the cabin – so jealous!

After sleeping 10 hours last night, I woke up this morning feeling well-rested (although my hair was another story…) and dug into a quick and simple brekkie (shoutout to my new British bloggy friend, Angharad!) of Target Heartsmart cereal, sliced banana + skim milk along with a cuppa joe + skim milk.

CIMG3860

Then it was time for 9-miler.

For the first 6 miles, the run was nothing special.  I kept it at a slow 10:00/mile pace and just enjoyed being outside, soaking in the fresh air.  However, the most mysterious thing happened.  At about mile 6, I started feeling mondo good.  The last three miles, I probably ran at an 8:00/mile pace and finished up feeling ah-may-zing!  I came home, chugged a whole Nalgene and indulged in more PB art…

Stonyfield Farms Organic Vanilla yogurt
1/2 cup Target Heartsmart cereal
1/2 sliced banana
1 tbsp. PB

CIMG3862

Peace, love and happiness.  We need them all.

Another shoutout to Miss K for her may-juh LOVEly morning breakfast art!

Plus an Apple Pie Larabar for extra replenishing energy:

CIMG3863

Now I am watching Barefoot Contessa – one of my faves – on the Food Network but need to go shower and get ready to enjoy whatever I want to do with the rest of the day!  Woowoo – this has not happened in a long time.

Do you have a favorite TV cook/chef?  Mine is definitely Ina Garten – that Barefoot Contessa may not always be healthy, but I love her classic, simple and use of whole ingredients.

 

17 Responses to “Shopping is My Cardio”

  1. ksgoodeats Says:

    Thanks for the shout out, mama!! You know, I’ve never had *true* Indian food but your Baingan Bhartha looks bangin’ (get it 😉 )!

    My favorite TV chef is Giada! LOVE her!

  2. Evan Thomas Says:

    My favorite Food Network chef has to be Paula Deen. I don’t think I’ve eaten as much butter in the past year as there is in some of her recipes, but she’s so entertaining and sweet. And if she ever cooked for me I’d happily eat 20 pounds of her fried chicken.

  3. Katharina Says:

    Fourth season, girl! I just watched that episode 2 days ago!

    Oh. My. GOSH!!! Your Indian food platter and ice cream loook soo good. And I KNOW they were soo good! Tarjay sells bananas?! Bananas are my favorite fruit for breakfast I think.

    I love Ina! Flavor is most important 🙂 And she definitely takes it to heart.

  4. april Says:

    First of all a Krunch cone?? Why have I never heard of that?? I used to be a Dairy Queen addict and have never seen that! Second of all that smiley face is adorable! And third of all how is that cereal? And how long does it hold you?

    Have a great day! And thanks for the compliment too 😀

  5. sunshineach Says:

    First, my absolute favorite DQ treat is a huge twist cone with sprinkles. You can keep your Blizzards. I heart the cone and sprinkles.

    Second, Apple Pie LaraBars are the best flavor. Ever.

    Last, I have been addicted to the Food Network for years. I don’t have a favorite chef, per se (mostly because I don’t ever attempt the recipes) but my favorite shows are Unwrapped; Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives; Next Food Network Star and Throwdown (I do love me some Bobby Flay). However, I enjoy them all!

  6. Matt Says:

    I like Bobby Flay!

    Nice job on the 9!

  7. Angharad Says:

    You are a bad ass!! Nice work on the nine-miler – that’s super impressive. I’m heading out for my three-miler soon and I feel pretty lame in comparison…

    That Indian food looked so flippin good – are you just trying to make me jealous after I confessed my deep love for the stuff yesterday?! Did you make that yourself or pick it up somewhere??

    You were right about the sun – it’s out! I’m heading down to Lake Calhoun for my run; I’ll keep an eye out for you!

  8. Tay Says:

    Shopping is most definitely cardio!! Walking around, heart rate increasing with the spotting of super cute clothes…

    Bobby Flay’s Throwdown is my fave! Ahhhh Bobby I love you!

  9. Alison Says:

    YAY for great long runs and adorably funny PB art!

    That DQ cone looks totally yum, so does last nights dinner too. Love love love Indian food. Bring on the curry!

  10. Emily (Healthy Fit Mama) Says:

    I’ve never had Indian food! I really need to try it.

    That Apple Pie Larabar is one of my faves!!

    I’m loving your PB art. 😉

  11. lynetteess Says:

    I love Giada – her recipes are simple yet loaded with flavor and usually very healthy.

  12. Kailey Says:

    i love indian food!! its one of my favorite cuisines now 😀
    mm your yogurt mess looks unbelievably good!!!

  13. tiponz Says:

    BOBBY FLAY!!!

  14. mponz Says:

    I have to say, Bobby Flay is my favorite!! Just watched him this morning make a killer looking pizza on the grill…hummus, grilled veggies, goat cheese, basil…a MUST make!

  15. mponz Says:

    I have to say, Bobby Flay is my favorite!! Just watched him this morning make a killer looking pizza on the grill…hummus, grilled veggies, goat cheese, basil…a MUST make!

  16. I’ve probably seen every SATC episode 3, 4, 5 times…..and i’m always up for watching repeats on TV. What can I say, i’m obsessed!

    And YUM….. the naan bread & Baigan Bhartha are my fave indian dishes!! Congrats on that run girl, 9 miles is farrrr more than I could do!

  17. Jenny Says:

    buaha shopping is totes an awesome cardio sess! especially food shopping.. winding through those aisles with your cart, sprinting to the PB aisle before the last jar of DCD gets snagged.. i always come out of there sweating 😉

    again with the food art – love it, and love you more :)!


Leave a comment