The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

miss alison -> mama’s weeds August 4, 2009

Filed under: guest posts — Holly @ 17:00

Our next guest post is from the fabulously funny Alison from Mama’s Weeds, who is indeed one hot mama!  From the beginning, Alison was one of my first readers and in turn, I found her blog and immediately became a daily reader.  Not only is she a fabulous cook, raw food experimentor and creative writer, but she does it all with two cute lil’ punkins by her side.  That is a true multitasking mom for ya!

 

10 Things That Taught Me to Love Running

My name is Alison and I write a blog called Mama’s Weeds. I’m a runner, a mother and a foodie. Last year I lost 35 lbs and got down to 129, a number I hadn’t seen since 10 BC. (Before Child.)

I started running as a way get back into my skinny jeans. Before then I use to be that person who ran only if I was being chased. I went from skinny jean runner, to running because it meant I could have five cookies instead of one, to running because it was the easiest way to feel like I’d eaten some special brownies first thing in the morning. No, that last line has nothing to do with the name of my blog.

Mama's Weeds

Here’s how I found my way to being the running freak I never thought I would ever be.

1. Eat Your Veggies

Forget pasta, veggies are where it’s at. If you want to run like the wind, get your greens on. Want to be lean mean running machine? Throw spinach in a smoothie, snack on carrots before dinner, eat asparagus for dessert. What do bunnies eat? Grass. How to bunnies run? Fast. Enough said.

 

2. Run with Music

There’s nothing like running through your neighborhood at the crack of dawn singing along with Eminem’s Lose Yourself at the top of your lungs. Your neighbors will thank you for being such an awesome role model and motivating them to get out of bed early and run too.

 

3. Buy Good Sneakers

You need some good kicks. If you like knee pain, hip pain, black toenails that fall off and blisters that make you hobble around like an old man, running in sneakers that are too old and too small are where it’s at. Those black toenails do make for some fabulous conversation starters at parties. If that’s not your thang, the homies at your local running store are ready to hook you up.

 

4. Buy Good Clothes

Cotton is not your friend when you are running. That goes for socks too. Sweat + cotton = chaffing in spots you didn’t think were possible to chaff. If you want running to be a lot less angry and red, buy some some good gear.

 

5. Train for Something

Whether it’s a 5K, a 10K, half marathon or marathon, running with a race in mind is a way to give your runs some purpose. I like pretend that old man who goes for a walk in my neighborhood is just steps away from the finish line. I sprint like it’s my duty to embarrass him. And I yes, I totally apologized that one time I knocked him down trying to get to the stop sign first.

 

6. Surround Yourself with Runners

Humans are social creatures. We tend to pick up on the habits of our peers. The more you hang out with runners, talk about running, think about running, the more excited you’ll become about running. You also need to know what to brag about and how to do it. Listening to other runners blabber on about PR’s, LR’s and BQ’s can be a great way to pick up on those skillz.

 

7. Run All Year Round

I’ve been running for over 4 years now and this is the first year I’ve run through all four seasons. Running in the heat of the summer makes me long for the days of bitter wind, slush filled roads and black ice. Winter running makes me look forward to blistering heat, sunburn and bugs that try to keep the pace with you. It’s all about perspective.

 

8. Read about Running

Reading about anything, whether it’s cooking, parenting, health, underwater basket weaving or running; it gets me pumped to get out there and get my Reading Rainbow on.

 

9. Rest

Yo, if you want to run good, you gotta rest good. A day or two off a week ain’t gonna break the bank. And besides, you need time to practice your underwater basket weaving.

 

10. Run Fast, Run Slow

Be the bunny, but be the turtle too. Turtles eat weeds and they’ve got lots of endurance to go the long haul. Run slow to run long. I’d love to see what happens if a bunny and a turtle ran a long race together. Oh, wait.

 

23 Responses to “miss alison -> mama’s weeds”

  1. Lizzy Says:

    Alison i love this post! I’m training for my first half marathon! so excited. your tips assure me that i can do it! Thanks a ton!!!!! i’m gonna head over to your blog and check it out! 🙂

  2. Holly Says:

    i LOVE this post…i think so many people want to get into running but think they hate it, can’t do it or don’t know where to start. now they have help!

    thanks again for the guest post my dear – have a wonderful week!

  3. leianna Says:

    Those are some great tips. Definetely learned something new today. I need new socks:)

  4. Alison Says:

    Thanks girls! My explanations of each “tip” is a little crazy 😉 but each of the items in my list really what are helped me get to the point where I am today. I really do love running, and believe me, I never thought I would.

    Lizzy, I’m running a half marathon at the end of the summer too! I ran a marathon last summer but this is my first half! Good luck with your training! 😀

  5. Whit Says:

    haha, I love this! I totes appreciate it, and am headed over to your blog now, Alison!

  6. This is great!! Can’t wait to read more on your blog!!

  7. Angharad Says:

    Love this post Alison! I was nodding my head all the way through! I think signing up for a race is SUCH a great way to motivate yourself – it’s definitely what has got me going run after run this summer. However, I am TERRIFIED of running here come winter – I feel like I’m going to slip and die on the ice! Argh. You’re motivating me to get over it though 🙂

    P.S. How cute do your kiddies want to be?

  8. Anne K. Says:

    Love this! Thanks for the awesome post, Alison. It made me smile, and I definitely agree on the tips 🙂

  9. janetha Says:

    thanks alison these are some great tips! i don’t LOVE running but i do like it, i think i will take some of your advice. my sister also spells her name the same as you, it is rare i see it with just one L! thanks for the post 🙂

  10. LOVE LOVE this post! 😀 Thanks so much for sharing such fun and insightful tips. I love my veggies so my fave has got to be tip#1.

  11. Cindy Says:

    LOVE this Alison!!!

    I am just starting and I could use pointers!

    Ava’s face CRACKS ME UP!!! she’s a cutie!

  12. buffmuffy Says:

    Great tips! Love it!
    -muffy

  13. WholeBodyLove Says:

    I’m such a newbie …and I ‘m a mommy too! So, I loved this post!

  14. Great tips!! 😀 Love ’em! 😀

  15. Erica Says:

    Great post! Couldn’t concur more with the shoes thoughts! And congrats on the weight loss- that totally rocks

  16. SHE-FIT Says:

    Random question… do any of you find it harder to run on a treadmill or outside on the pavement?

  17. Alison Says:

    I think the TM is a lot harder. There’s no breeze, it’s boring… I only do the dreadmill if I have to.

    But it *is* usually easier to run a faster pace on the TM than it is out on the road.

  18. lilveggiepatch Says:

    Ah, great post. Just what I need for that extra motivation!

  19. I love this post! Thanks for the inspiration and great tips!

  20. Matt Says:

    Great post, awesome tips! I love the one about training for something. Seriously, that’s the thing that keeps me running. I have a good time doing it, but it’s the thought of doing an awesome distance or running a great time that keeps me going.

    I’m still pondering the “special brownies” joke, hoping it’s not what I think. 🙂

  21. Kailey Says:

    great post!!
    I couldn’t agree more with the shoes, outfits and REST days 🙂

  22. Yay Alison! I love her blog and her advice – and I don’t even run!


Leave a comment