The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

Grazin’ Like a Cow June 25, 2009

CIMG3817

Can you really go wrong waking up to a Fitnessista genius creation – the breakfast cookie?  I think not!  My combo today involved oats, hemp protein powder, peanut butter, 1/2 banana, unsweetened shredded coconut, vanilla oat milk & strawberries.

However after the cookie, I was still hungry so I snatched the other 1/2 of the banana and slathered on some peanutty goodness…this gal LOVES a big breakfast!

CIMG3819

Breakfast obv kept me full all morning long.   Around 11:30am, I started my bovine ways by munching on an avocado-lettuce sammie on Ezekiel with mustard.  Anything with avocado I maintain is delicious.  Then at about 1pm, I broke open my first Oikos deliciousness from Stonyfield Farms and got a little blueberry buzz.  It was everything I hoped for and more…

CIMG3821CIMG3823

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A little more info about our friend Oikos

Most importantly, it’s organic!  Correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t believe there is another organic Greek yogurt out on the market.  Because it removes the whey (liquid) from the yogurt, Greek yogurt is super creamy and thick – not to mention chock full o’ protein (somewhere between 12 – 15 grams per single serving container!).  Stonyfield Farms makes their yogurt from small family farms, is free of pesticides, chemicals and growth hormones and did I mention delicious?

Since I am a huge proponent of organic dairy (ya gotta treat the cows right so they treat us with good milk!), I have to say as expensive as Oikos is, I need to start buying it more.  I do like my Fage, Chobani and TJ’s Greek yogurts, but Oikos is organic.  And that means a lot of moi – guess if I kick my coffee habit I could pick up a Greek yogurt habit?  Hmmmmm….

 

A 20-minute walk/breath of fresh air at 1pm.

Okay, so I really hate technology today.  Not only have I had uber-problems uploading this post, but they erased my gloriously photographed picture of the Raw Organic Food Bar in Chocolate Coconut I had at 3pm yesterday afternoon.  The nerveeeee!

I was still feelin’ snacky (to the tune of “Bossy,” for the record), so at 4pm I was about to grab a handful of peanut M&Ms when out of nowhere, I found a fresh veggie platter in our break room at work!  Woowoo – I mixed me up a nice lil’ spread with about 1 tbsp. of veggie dip and delightfully enjoyed a much healthier snack…

 CIMG3825

After work, I skedaddled on over to my girl Ashley’s house where we bounded out the door for a 4-mile run in the still obnoxiously hot MN temps.  We were two sweaty beasts after, but it felt fab.  Running with somebody else always makes the time go by so much faster!  Dinner was an Ashley-Holly mix of deliciousness…

brown rice
black beans
tomatoes
salsa
colby jack cheese
red onion
avocado
cilantro
dollop of sour cream

All together now…

CIMG3830

Dessert was a lovely chocolate chip granola bar split between Ash and myself.

After dindin, we skedaddled again over to beach volleyball – woowoo!  Wednesday nights are fast becoming my favorite night of the week (even though I am forced to miss SYTYCD – So You Think You Can Dance).  For the record, in my next life, I want to come back as the host Cat Deeley.  We lost 2 games to 1 last night, but again, major team improvements are happening!

Which is totally reason to celebrate with this…

CIMG3831

A lil’ Leinie’s Honeyweiss – my fave!

I was one tired gal, so I headed straight to bed last night and got up extra early to prepare this post for y’all.  It’s all for you my loyal readers…all for you!

 

23 Responses to “Grazin’ Like a Cow”

  1. mmm your dinner looks so fresh and tasty!!

  2. april Says:

    Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.. eat up!!

  3. Emily (Healthy Fit Mama) Says:

    I am all about a big breakfast! Mine is always huge!! Favorite meal of the day. 🙂

  4. jenngirl Says:

    You are definitely a trooper for pulling off a 4-miler in this summer heat! And I’m lovin’ the looks of that dinner+dessert+cold beverage! 😉

  5. Abby Says:

    Hey there! This is my first time to your blog and love that you also can actually enjoy large amounts of (healthy) food without guilt or explanation. Food is meant to be loved and consumed in large quantities…especially avocados and rice.

    My usual lunch mirrors that of yours–some kind of avocado, hummus, spinach and/or cheese on Ezekiel bread or wrap. “Love? Avocado is thy name…”

    • Holly Says:

      You know what…you can eat lots of healthy food and be totally satisfied! As long as I know that what I am putting in my body, it can use for energy and help me run better, I’m all for it. Thanks for visiting the blog – I checked out yours too, and it’s adorable!

      P.S. Gotta love the cado!

  6. Katharina Says:

    I almost had the exact same thing for MY dinner. Although yours was probably muuuch tastier – I didn’t have cilantro, cheese, or sour cream!

    I am ALWAYS snacking – just like my mom :p What can I say? Some things just taste so damn good.

  7. Your salad looks great! And eventhough it’s only 11am, your glass of beer is REALLY making me crave some 🙂

  8. Jenny Says:

    i love me some oikos .. and you are correctemundoooo.. only organic greek yogurt out there.. cha ching!

    beach volleyball sounds like such a blast.. i LOVE playing but am absolutely awful.. my height gets me nowhere with that sport.

    Happy thursday, beautiful!
    lovelovelove,
    Jenny

  9. tiponz Says:

    i have been wanting to make a breakfast cookie for some time now! I want to buy amazing meal– can u put that into a cookie? Also…where did you study abroad?

    • Holly Says:

      You could totally must Amazing Meal into a cookie – check out the recipe link in the post. Fab idea!

      I studied abroad in London – which was absolutely amazing. However, I did some volunteer work in Australia, and that was just as amazing. I highly recommend going abroad – I promise you will NOT regret it 🙂

  10. lowandbhold Says:

    Wow, busy day! Beach vball sounds like a blast, I haven’t played in fo-ever!

    Yummy salad, I want a bite!

  11. That salad, breakfast cookie and pb-slathered banana look amazingggg, love your eats! 🙂

  12. Alison Says:

    1. Breakfast cookies rule
    2. This girl loves a big breakfast too
    3. I was eating almost an identical lunch as I was reading this post. Avocado (and tomato) sandwich and greek yogurt (but Fage)
    4. Your post run dinner looks so freaking good the wheels in my head are turning for dinner tonight!
    5. OK so I’ve read on random websites that supposedly Fage IS organic but just not certified organic?? I honestly don’t know but heard that somewhere. I just looked on the container and it says that their farmers pledge not to use rBGH in their cows yadda yadda but I still buy it cause I luv it! I do like Oikos too, I just wish they had another version of it that’s not completely FF. I don’t mind a little fat in dairy products, I feel like it holds me over longer.
    6. #5 got a little long, no?

    • Holly Says:

      I will totally have to investigate Fage (perhaps next installment of Holly Investigates…?) because it is the thickest and creamiest.

      Again, that’s what she said.

      I couldn’t resist 🙂

  13. I really love that blueberry Oikos yogurt. I’m craving it now. We’re trying to be more frugal, so I’ve been buying off brand organic vanilla (not greek) and it’s just not the same.

    I love big breakfasts too.

  14. ksgoodeats Says:

    First of all, I just noticed your new picture of Das Boot! Did you flip it on time?

    Secondly, that naner picture is a little PG13 and I love it! Beer is the best refueler. Screw water!

    Oh and yes, as far as I know, Oikos is the only organic Greek yog 🙂 Love it!

    • Holly Says:

      Haha…a girl I work with was like WTF to my PB + banana combo…most def PG13.

      ALWAYS flip the boot on time :).

  15. ksgoodeats Says:

    PS. I edited and linked to you on MONDO – I can’t believe I forgot to when I first posted the entry!

  16. what an amazing looking dinner! great combo of food!

    I have yet to try the b-fast cookie but I really have to!

    It’s been hot here too in Toronto and I find it hard to run outside! Plus I don’t want to scare people because I ge t really, really red and people might think I am having a heart attack or something haha

  17. i still have yet to try the oikos – i’ve got a coupon though, so it’s only a matter of a trip to the grocery store….

  18. lynetteess Says:

    The blueberries with the yogurt look so good. Blueberries and yogurt just seem a natural combination!


Leave a comment