The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

Gettin’ My Vitamin D June 14, 2009

Filed under: breakfast,dinner,lunch — Holly @ 21:04
Tags: , , , , , ,

I don’t want to rub it in to those of you who experienced less than stellar weather…but today was PERFECT!  Sunny, 80 degrees and oh so gorgeous – it was the perfect day to lay in the sun and soak up some rays get my vitamin D fix.  After last night’s late feast, I went light with the breakfast this morning and concocted a berry green monster.

1 cup vanilla almond milk
1/2 banana
1.5 cups mixed frozen fruit (pineapple, mango, berries & banana)
2 cups spinach
raspberries, for a pretty garnish

CIMG3686

After breakfast, I ran a few errands, grabbed my VeggieGirl-inspired Dark Chocolate Coconut Almond Blondies and met my two ladies Ashley and Megan for some quality time poolside!

Oh man – heaven!  It was so nice to relax, lounge by the pool, take a dip and catch up with my gal pals.  I slathered on the SPF45 then happily soaked up my vitamin D.  Early afternoon, we brought out our potluck of goodies for lunch.  On the menu today…

All-Bran Garlic & Herb crackers
roasted red pepper hummus
variety of takeout sushi
strawberries
Diet Coke (a must-have poolside beverage!)
my VeggieGirl blondies

CIMG3687

For my share, I would guesstimate I had about 1 cup strawberries, 4 pieces of sushi, 1-1.5 servings crackers w/ 1/4 cup hummus and 2 blondies (and Diet Coke :)) spread out throughout the lunch/afternoon.

Us ladies bummed the rest of the afternoon at the pool and split at about 3:30pm.  From there, I ran a quick errand to my sister’s new house and then came home where I finished up on some basic Sunday tasks: cleaning, laundry, mini-manicure and dindin.  Tonight was a random assortment of things…spinach salad with berries, almonds and a drizzle of honey/EVOO, celery w/ peanut butter and a slice of Ezekiel 12-grain bread with raspberry preserves.

CIMG3688

And a third blondie for dessert :).

Along with a glass of sauvignon blanc

CIMG3689

After dinner, it was off to my favorite Sunday night Yoga/Pilates Fusion class with Deb.  Sixty minutes of loveliness – today was full of balance moves, ab work and lotsa good stretching.  When I got home, I needed a lil’ somethin’ somethin’ so I made myself a bowl of blueberry-liciousness

CIMG3694

Tomorrow I am volunteering at an all-day charity golf tournament for Children’s Heartlink – an awesome international medical nonprofit that does with with pediatric heart disease around the world.  I am so excited to soak up some sun, hit the links and support a good cause.  I will have a full recap of all the fun tomorrow!

Tomorrow also starts day 1 of marathon training…yikes!

What was the best thing you did this weekend?  For me, that’s a toughie.  It’s tied between the Pedal Pub and the poolside fun today!

 

10 Responses to “Gettin’ My Vitamin D”

  1. Matt Says:

    CONGRATS ON THE MARATHON!

    Welcome to the crazy club! 🙂

  2. runandrejoice Says:

    Hey! I saw you commented on Matt’s blog that you signed up for your first marathon! CONGRATULATIONS! I am due to run my first in November, I can’t wait! When is yours?

    ps LOVE the blog!

  3. april Says:

    That’s awesome about your volunteering! I’ve never tried honey on a salad but that is definitely on my to-do list!

  4. Alison Says:

    We had fabulous weather yesterday too, welcome summer!!

  5. Emily (Healthy Fit Mama) Says:

    Sounds like you had yourself quite the weekend! My favorite thing I did this weekend was going to a cookout. It was the first mini-roadtrip with the baby…and the first time I’ve left town since a couple months before she was born!!

  6. blueeyedheart Says:

    But you ARE rubbing it in!! *whine*

    Good luck with the training!!

    ❤ ❤

  7. Traci Says:

    Sounds like an awesome weekend Holly! Here in Boston Saturday was nice, yesterday pretty overcast and chilly. We need a good stretch of sunshine and Vit. D! Shopping, running, dinners out, cocktails with friends pretty much took up my weekend. Overall good times.
    Awesome about your charity event! Giving back and organizing events is a passion of mine so good for you! Keep up the great work with the blog…It keeps getting better and better!

  8. Your smoothie sounds delicious. As much as I make them, I almost never use any kind of milk because I’ve always used yogurt. How is the vanilla almond milk, seems like it would be good in there! I love almond milk but haven’t tried vanilla yet.

  9. Mmm….honey on a salad? I’ve never tried that, but it sounds delish. 😀

    Have fun volunteering!! Can’t wait for the recap…:D

  10. Holly Says:

    thanks for all the marathon support! it’s october 4th – so just about 16 weeks away, eek!


Leave a comment