The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

Sleepyhead June 4, 2009

Good morning my dears!

Sorry for the late post – this gal was one sleepyhead last night.  But may I start at the beginning…

Yesterday, yours truly woke her buns up at 5am and made it to 5:30am Vinyasa Flow with yoga diva Deb just in time.  However, I’m not going to lie, it was NOT the best feeling yoga class I’ve had.  I don’t know if it made a difference, but I didn’t have a snack before I went.  The whole class, I was tired, fatigued and super tight.  However, by the end, I did feel better for going and woo – we did some revolved pyramids that I am still feeling this morning!

When I got home from yoga, I devoured a bowl of TJ’s blueberry muesli with skim milk as well as a naner with some good ol’ raw almond butter… 

CIMG3423

Mid-morning, I snacked on another naner with raw almond butter (the choices are slim pickins!).  However, I got some great feedback on the PB/AB in a bag trick, so I thought I would show you some of the fun decorating you can do by putting any nut butter in a bag, cutting the tip and piping it out like a frosting bag.  Here I go (I was clearly working REALLY hard at work:))…

A heart <3…

CIMG3426

My attempt at a star (key word being attempt)…

CIMG3427

A smiley face…

CIMG3429

And a fun, random design…

CIMG3430

The naner/AB combo kept me full for awhile, so I ventured off on a nice 1/2 hour walk at noon and enjoyed some lunch upon my return.  I had some pretzels, black bean salsa (black beans, tomato, onion, green pepper, cumin, garlic powder, drizzle EVOO, lime juice & S+P) as well as a little veggie wrap (leftovers from a work luncheon).

CIMG3433

I couldn’t resist a small handful of my faves…

CIMG3434

Lunch held me over pretty well, so late afternoon, I munched on some carrots as I finished up work for the day.

CIMG3439

After work, a friend and I went apartment hunting!  Yes!  If all goes according to plan, I will hopefully find a super cute apartment here in the next month.  My three basic requirements are, (a) cheap, (b) super cute and (c) in a safe neighborhood.  If you can’t tell, I don’t really have too high of standards, haha!  We did find some good prospects, so I have lots of calling and appointment scheduling on my hands for next week.

Dinner was quick, cheap and oh so delicious: CHIPOTLE!  By the way, I found this awesome Chipotle Nutrition Facts Calculator online – I don’t know how accurate it is, but I figure it’s a better guesstimate than my own.  Here is my burrito bowl concoction:

1/2 cup cilantro rice
steak
mild salsa
fajita veggies
lettuce
guacamole

CIMG3440

According to Mr. Calculator, that will be about 515 calories, 23 grams of fat (5 grams saturated), 7 grams of fiber and 36 grams of protein.  I will take that!

Honestly, I do not eat a lot of red meat at all.  Normally, my bowl is the exact same as this one minus the steak and plus the black beans.  However, I’ve been feeling a bit lethargic and tired this week, and after some thinking, I think I might be a little low on iron, hence the steak option.  I did feel better afterwards, especially because I also treated myself to this…

CIMG3441

Knowing I had a big ol’ game of late beach volleyball coming up, I had a small Mocha Hazelnut Latte made with soy milk.  I had 1/2 the amount of chocolate & syrup, and it was delicious!  My friend got the Turtle Cake for dessert, and I’m not going to lie, I made a little dent in that piece of cake as well :).

Volleyball was uber-fun as always last night, even though we lost all 3 games again.  Our record may be 1-8, but we did make some major teamwork/communication/skill improvements last night.  I wouldn’t be surprised if we made like the best comeback ever to win the whole thing…

This morning, I whipped out the blender to make a green monster.  I’ve been craving these buggers!

 1 cup Oat Dream oat milk
1 banana
1 cup tropical frozen fruit (bananas, peaches, mango & pineapple)
1 1/2 cups spinach

CIMG3442

Along with some Triscuits with almond butter and a drizzle of honey, twas’ a delicious meal!  Now, I am at work and need get going doing some actual work, haha! 

Hope you all have a fabulous day today!

 

8 Responses to “Sleepyhead”

  1. That’s not much fat for the Chipotle meal, considering there was steak in it. Since you’re concerned about feeling sluggish, have you considered taking iron supplements, like in a multivitamin? I know when I used to eat meat, it made me feel much more sluggish than I do now without it.

    • Holly Says:

      I take a multivitamin every other day…usually I feel way more energetic too, hence why I eat meat sparingly…maybe this gal just needs more sleep and less aggressive beach volleyball 🙂

      Thanks for the advice dear! I appreciate it!

  2. april Says:

    Your breakfast looks good! How does that muesli taste? Is it a cold cereal or hot like oatmeal?

    • Holly Says:

      The muesli is cold – it’s pretty much just rolled oats, dried fruit, nut (depending on the mix you get). I put it in yogurt too – it’s super yummy!

      I bet you could probably add water and make it into hot oatmeal too!

  3. Emily (Healthy Fit Mama) Says:

    Thanks for the Chipotle calculator! I love being able to look up the nutritional content of my food before I go out.

  4. Jenn Says:

    aw your almond butter art is so fun 🙂 you are too cute!

  5. Love the smiling banana!

  6. Lovin’ the artwork! 😀 How fun!

    And look at that big ol’ glob of guacamole…yum, yum! That’s by far my favorite addition to any salad. 😀


Leave a Reply

