The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

18 Miles Later… August 30, 2009

CIMG4847

...this is what I looked like.

It ain’t pretty, but it’s real.

18.15 miles.  2 hours 55 minutes. 9:30 minutes/mile.  Booyah.

A high protein, carbful post-run snack made me look feel slightly better…

CIMG4845

Janetha C.C. Ranch Mix, beets + farmer's market plums

Actually, if I am going to be honest with y’all, the run was awesome.  Long, but awesome.  Honestly.  I think since I work out best in the afternoon; going to the farmer’s market in the morning, eating breakfast and then heading out at 1:30pm was like the miracle formula.  The 6 Cran-Razz Clif Shot Bloks I took throughout the run probably helped too.

(P.S. I LOVE how everyone thought the banana was an ice cream cone…ice cream in the mornin’? Heck yah.)

snacks at the grocery store (which were BOTH free - all hail coupon cutting!)

snacks at the grocery store (which were BOTH free - all hail coupon cutting!)

After the run, I tried to eat intuitively; not shove down massive calories because I could (which, don’t get me wrong, was reallllyyyy tempting…).  And it worked!  I would eat, usually feel full for an hour or two then was massively hungry again. Vroom, vroom metabolism!

For dindin, I whipped up a lil’ somethang with my farmer’s market finds

bed of mixed greens
zucchini + roma tomato (sauteed in EVOO + garlic)
lemon basil
lotsa parmigiano reggiano goodness
a side of 7-grain Kashi crackers

CIMG4854

grilled veggie salad with Kashis

Plus, a post-dinner handful of Kashis.  Those things are ridiculously good.

And a dessert a la this girl and that girl

85% dark choc + AB

85% dark choc + AB

Then, being the wild n’ crazy grandma I am, I met up with my fabulous friend Brett for dranks (two Spotted Cow beers to be exact) then went dancing (and played wingwoman for him) at the local gay bar.  I<3 gay men.  Ummm…best. time. in a long time.  If you say dancing after running 18 miles, I am still there.  Good times were had, and I was in bed by 1am.  Perf.

This morning, I had breakfast in bed…

1 cup Stonyfield BaNilla yog
sprinkle o’ flax
sprinkle o’ almond meal
1/2 cup raspberries
1/4 cup Optimum Blueberry Cinnamon cereal

CIMG4860

refreshing + delicious

Now I am sitting at a local coffeeshop, swiggin’ my cuppa joe and enjoying the gorgey day.  Happy Sunday :)

Are you a coupon cutter? I never used to be, but now I love it!!!

 

31 Responses to “18 Miles Later…”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    YOU MADE IT!! :-D

    85% chocolate = oh yes.

  2. Lizzy Says:

    Holly i’m so freakin proud of you girl! 18 miles is AMAZING!

    an i’m pretty sure that salad is a girls dream come true! lovin it! :)

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. DANG.GIRL. Nice job!!! That is incredible – you are seriously my hero :) I can’t even picture in my brain what running 18 miles would feel like!

  4. April (Foods of April) Says:

    Wow I am seriously in awe of your running! Could you tell me how you got to be so good at running? Were you always a runner? You may have talked about that before but I can’t remember!

    And I love that post run meal! Beets are good no matter what time of day in my opinion!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  5. Congrats on the 18 miles you warrior, you! :D

  6. snackface Says:

    You are such a BALLER!!! Shoooo 18 miles! My goodness, five miles to me is long-ish, so I can’t even imagine the thought processes through 18 miles. Running is hugely mental for me, but I also feel as though something would be aching by then. You are phenom.

    Ending the day with brews and dancing at a gay bar? You had the best Saturday ever. Love it!

  7. That is so awesome Holly!!! Way to go!
    I’m working on getting back into running, but 18 miles? Wow!
    I know, I love hearing all about your Madison adventures because I know exactly what you are talking about…did the dancing take place at Club 5 by any chance?? :)

  8. Wow! You are amazing!

    I love 85% dark chocolate & AB – soooooo good….

  9. Anne K. Says:

    Wowwww, congrats girl!! 18 miles is LONG! :) Sounds like the perfect way to end the night, too :D

  10. Jenny Says:

    holls about 18+ miles I would literally be collapsed face down on the pavement ’cause i wouldn’t even be able to make it to my house – so kudos to you wonder woman!

    oh it’s my dream to have a gay best friend — i’m trying to convert Ginge .. thats how badly i want one.

    happy sunday peaches!

  11. jenngirl Says:

    Wow, totally impressed that you ran 18 miles (awesome!) and then proceeded to make it out dancing! That’s what I call stamina :)

    Have a glorious Sunday!

  12. I love using coupons!! Your dinner looks awesome!

  13. lowandbhold Says:

    You are such an inspiration Holly! Love that you’re starfishing the carpet after the run haha. The salad looks num nummy!

  14. Evan Thomas Says:

    I’m bad at coupons but I’m pretty decent with surfing the circular sales.
    Congrats on 18! Glad to hear the afternoon run worked. I need to start getting used to running other times than first thing but food + motion with me do not work in sync

  15. janetha Says:

    more reasons we are LDBFFs: (ahem, long distance is the LD)

    1. i love that unsweet tea! i drank some yesterday
    2. ice cream is too my fave dessert
    3. i am recently a coupon convert as well

    one day, we will be united..

  16. Yay! Congrats! I can’t even get my head around the idea of 18 miles! Though where I live, that would be about 8 laps around the entire city :P

    I am amazed by how everyone refules post-run. I think I would eat my own weight in sandwiches and cereal…

    Coupons aren’t big here. They are usually just on stuff like cereal boxes so I use them if I can, but definitely hit up stuff on special offer (which explains the zillions of tubs of Greek yogurt in my fridge!)

  17. Alison Says:

    All HAIL HOLLY for 18 miles! Chocolate and AB! Intuitive post run eating and intuitive post run pictures that made me spit when I laughed! More hailing for dancing at a gay bar last night because I. DID. THE. SAME. THING!! No joke.

    HIP HIP HOORAY for perfect Saturdays!

  18. ksgoodeats Says:

    YAY!!!! You rocked it – I’m so impressed you ran 18 miles, my max was 6!

    Beers and dancing?! Loves. I also love that grilled veggie salad :)

    I’m a coupon cutter from WFs – they have TONS of coupons in their monthly mags at the check out! Good deals are had!

  19. Haleigh Says:

    Dang girl! Amazing running stats! Congrats

  20. Wow I’m in awe. I’ve been exercising so much in the last few weeks. I feel exactly like the first pic. My hubby is taking to Cancun in 5 weeks for our 5-year anniversary. I’ve been running and doing a lot of cardio but 18 miles? no way! You go, girl!

  21. Lainie Says:

    Oh my gosh – you are amazing~!!!!! To run 18 miles is SUCH an incredible feat…you are incredible. I wish you lived near me so you could come whip my butt into shape!!! You are honestly SO motivating.

  22. dude, you are awesome!! make sure you rest and eat up! :)

  23. Whit Says:

    18 miles! WOOT WOOT! Way to gooooo!

  24. keunger Says:

    Good work! I remember those 18 milers from a couple of marathons I ran (that seem like FOREVER ago…) and feeling so darn proud of myself afterwards. I hope you feel proud of yourself, too!! Frekin’ fantastic.

  25. justine Says:

    I cut coupons like crazy but I hate it when I get there even with the coupon the item is still more expensive the off brand version I usually buy :(. 18 miles?? You are a beast!! Mad respect!! That would take me a week. That bowl of veggies from the farmers market looks spectacular!!

    ~Justine
    P.S. Love the gays!!! haha

  26. Erica Says:

    WOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWw! You are my hero ;) That is freaking awesome! The grilled veggie salad looks fantastic- totally my kinda meal mmmm. Hope you’re enjoying your Sunday night

  27. psychoj1 Says:

    Major congrats on 18 miles! That’s INCREDIBLE! Love your fuel too! :D <3 jess
    xoxo

  28. Brandi Says:

    way to rock that run AND go out dancing after :)

    you’re my hero!

  29. im a total coupon cutter
    amazing you got those products for FREE though, where are those coupons in my papers ?!
    maybe i am not hip enough yet to know where to find the good ones!

  30. Tay Says:

    lol girl I hope you got ome needed rest!!! I’m a huge coupon cutter. Every bit adds up!!

  31. traveleatlove Says:

    Awesome job! I love going out dancing after running. After the Bermuda marathon we all went out late into the night, I don’t know how!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.