The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

Boring Is Not So Bad August 25, 2009

Filed under: breakfast,dinner,lunch,reviews — Holly @ 20:31
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Ever have one of those days where nothing really happens…you just go about your day and nothing is out of the ordinary spectacular or bad?  That was today para mi.

It started out with a delicious breakfast cookie, courtesy of our fave sista of fitness:

1/2 cup oats
2 tbsp. hemp protein powder
1 heaping tbsp. raw AB
2 tbsp. shredded coconut
1/4 cup skim milk
1 sliced banana

CIMG4783

a breakfast cookie is always a star

I don’t know what it is, but these just don’t fill me up!  Suriously, I was hungry like 3 hours later. I even did some nutrish calculating to see if I was getting enough sustenance…well, about 500 cals, 15 grams of protein and lotsa fiber should fill a gal up for reals!

Followed up with a yummy mid-morning PURE bar I won in Kristin’s giveaway, which I snarfed before my meeting (because it was one of those meetings where you are not sure how long it will last).

Cranberry Orange PURE Bar

Cranberry Orange PURE Bar

Lunchie was banana-ful as well as tomater-ful…

CIMG4785

AB+B quesadilla with buttloads of cinnamon and a drizzle of honey

cherry tomatoes

cherry tomatoes

More work, planning, writing and my fave mid-afternoon snack of choice: Greek yog + fruit.

CIMG4787

Blueb Chob + bluebs

If I had to pick a lowlight of the day, this would be it.  I maybe drank like 1/6 of it – sorry POM, I normally love your juice but this tea was NOT cutting it.  I wasn’t even going to offer it to a co-worker.  That’s how much I did not like it.

POMx Pomegranate Lychee Green Tea - not so good...

POMx Pomegranate Lychee Green Tea - yeah, not so good...

At 5pm, I skedaddled home and out the door for a 6 mile run.  Done in just under an hour, it didn’t feel awesome but didn’t feel bad either.  See what kind of humdrum iffy day I am having?

Fortunately, dinner was anything but iffy.  In fact, it was sooo good and sooo satisfying!  Dindin hit the spot while watching The Office online, featuring the King of TWSS himself.  Michael Scott is probs my 2nd favorite character…Kevin is my first.  I can’t help it, everytime he does Kool-Aid man I seriously wet myself.  For the record however, I will one day become Mrs. Jim Halpert (or preferably, Mrs. John Krasinski).

CIMG4791

Amy's Indian Spinach Tofu Wrap, grilled zucchini, cucumbers + TJ's three layer hummus

I guess if I consider a day like this boring….boring ain’t so bad.

 

42 Responses to “Boring Is Not So Bad”

  1. Matt Says:

    Haha I have those days all the time. It seems like I do the same things everyday!

  2. VeggieGirl Says:

    That banana star is INCREDIBLE!

  3. Kristin Says:

    Haaa I love that you love Kevin – he’s the best! And your banana star bfast cookie made me smile too :)

  4. leianna Says:

    sweet breakfast cookie/star! i love your “boring”day!

  5. Matt Says:

    I do a speed workout or a tempo run every single week. READ HARDER. Haha.

  6. Evan Thomas Says:

    I’m sorry but I cannot support you in your pursuits; I’m 100% a Pam + Jim 4 Life person

  7. jenngirl Says:

    Hey, boring definitely ain’t bad, I always say to enjoy it while you can ;)

  8. whoo hoo bfast cookie!!! :D

  9. Special K Says:

    I don’t get the POM thing…it is lackluster for me…and for 500 I’d want to be filled up for longer…but 3 hours is good, right?

    • Holly Says:

      i usually like breakfast to be extra big so it sustains me until lunch…lately ive been having to have a snack!

  10. Lizzy Says:

    First-Banana quesadilla with cinnamon=OMG yumm
    Second-Stellar run, so awesome girl!
    Third-never had POM, should i try and see what i think and compare?
    Fourth-Must copy your dinner because that looks AWESOME
    :)

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  11. I will need to try that Amy’s wrap – I’ve been meaning to for a while, such a pretty presentation too!

  12. Whit Says:

    I love your banana star. You are so creative, my pet.

  13. Love the star on the breakfast cookie!! The AB/Banana quesadilla looks yummy!!

  14. Sounds like a great boring day to me… ;)

  15. I *love* the Halpert! He would be lucky to have a Healthy Everythingtarian ;)

  16. Angharad Says:

    Can we share Jim? No? Not even a little?
    Love the breakfast cookie but feel you on the lack of sustenance – I’ve only had one in my life but I have not gone back for more and I think that’s why. I remember being like, “yum! great. ok what’s next?”

    Your banana and AB wrap looks ANYTHING but out of the ordinary. It looks spectacularly yum.

    Sorry I’ve been MIA on the phone calling – moving house + disabled list husband (that made me laugh out loud) = busy me.

    But I am thinking we should DEFO hit up the SF on Friday together if you’re still down.

    Hearts bella. xx

  17. randomlymikey Says:

    boring can def be good sometimes! you breakie is so cute with the star. and i love the office, dry humor totally gets me.

  18. WholeBodyLove Says:

    Well, the banana star rocks and it definitly isn’t boring. Great run!

  19. The banana star makes the day perfect already. And then The Office? Seriously. Not boring. Awesome. xD

  20. snackface Says:

    I’m not sure why I haven’t been reading your blog religiously, but lemme tell you, I spent, like, an hour at work today just reading yo blog. Bad VegNewsie, good bloggie.

    I love the eats! I’m keeping my fingers crossed that someone comes up with a vegan Greek yogurt. The copious amounts of banana and almond love is so delightful.

    Boring days are fine! I have them, but I wouldn’t call them boring. Just eventlessly pleasant.

    Have a fab Humpday!

  21. Abby Says:

    Boring? Welcome to my world…however, if it includes that AB and banana deliciousness, anything Amy’s and Michael Scott, I’m in.

  22. justine Says:

    Your breakfast cookie look so cute :). I tried them once but it was to runny and didn’t fill up either so I never went back. Just didnt cut it for me. Yum girl, that banana and pb wrap looks marv! Is that Tjs 3 layer hummus I spy on that dinner plate?

    ~Justine

  23. ksgoodeats Says:

    You’re a star just like your breakfast!

    You and I are going to have to fight over John – or we could just share him if you’re open to that kind of thing. You know you can be his Wisconsin wife, I’ll be the Michigan wife? Let me know your thoughts on this pressing situation. Screw everyone else that commented, it’s you and me. ;)

  24. Sarah Says:

    Hmm, the pomegranate lychee green tea has been good to me before. Sorry you didn’t dig it!

    For some reason, oatmeal things don’t keep me full for long, either. When I first eat it I am so stuffed I can hardly finish, but 2-3 hours later the tum is a-grumblin. I wonder why that is?

  25. Cindy Says:

    Boring is not bad at all….

    not with meals like yours!!!

    making me hungry!

  26. Haleigh Says:

    AB quesadilla? genius! it looks amazing!

  27. Boring can be good…especially after a crazy few weeks (got your message- hope you are okay!)

    I need to check out The Office- do you watch the American one or the British one? (are they the same show?.)

    Amy’s wraps rock. As does your breakfast STAR!

  28. brandi Says:

    i love and hate days like that :) I LOVE Kevin – he cracks me up and you may have to fight me for Jim :)

  29. janetha Says:

    i will take a boring day with you any day of the week! i love the starry eyed bfast cookie. and is it weird that grill marks get me excited?? i wonder why the bfast cookie doesn’t fill you up, that is weird, i can’t remember how it does with me because i havent had one in so long. maybe tomorrow.. ok now i am just rambling. OH and when we get married (in a triple wedding with john no less) we can watch episodes of the office over. and. over. love!

  30. Maggie Says:

    I like the “boring” day :)

    Bfast cookies don’t fill me up AT ALL. It’s annoying, because they are so good. I don’t eat them anymore though. ::shrug::

  31. Faith Says:

    I love your banana star breakfast!

  32. kaitruns Says:

    those blueberries look SO amazingly juicy

  33. lowandbhold Says:

    I totally have those days. But that dinner did look quite amazing. LOVE me some grill marks. I can nevah get them quite right.

    Good to know about the POM tea.

  34. Jenny Says:

    you and your food art — never seizes to impress me. that star is a masterpiece!

  35. Alison Says:

    “Only” satisfied for 3 hours?? That’s a good meal in my book! What keeps you satisfied longer than that!? Inquiring minds need to know!

    I hear on the humdrum day. But you’re right, if that’s boring then that’s not too bad.

  36. Christina Says:

    awesome shape with the star ;) I made a breakfast cookie for after my run today (which did not occur yet) im still contemplating the shape I want to make haha- im thinking a “C” for Christina

  37. glidingcalm Says:

    Everything in this post looks so fresh and amazing!!! How are bananas so freakin delicious?!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.