The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

Eat, Shop, Run + Wed, Part 2 July 26, 2009

Filed under: breakfast,dinner,Japanese,lunch — Holly @ 22:38
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Oy vay…what a weekend!

After 3 hours of driving through Wisconsin country, I made it to the ‘rents house!  Tomorrow morn, I have an interview in Madison, which is much closer to Barbie + Ken’s house than MN.  Instead of a 4 hour drive, I will only have a 2 hour drive to get to Madtown for my 10am interview.  Whoop!

Alrighty, where did I leave off?  I believe you all got a recap of the wedding fun to be had in Part One, so I shall begin this morning upon my awaking.  Pretty tired from the 13 miles + night o’ dancing, I woke up at 8:30am to let out the beast one last time.  Then I opened the fridge and had a bit of this…

Peach Chobs + Zoe's Honey Almond granol

Peach Chobs + Zoe's Honey Almond granol

The fridge was quite bare.

After eating, I met up with two of my bestest friends in the world for perhaps the most perfect morning ever.  We grabbed coffee (and some extra sustenance for me) at a fabulous local coffeehouse called Spyhouse Coffee and headed off for a GLORIOUS morning walk around the lake.  Instead of a mom walk, it was a friend walk :).

organic...lovin' that!

organic...lovin' that!

After gabbing and walking about 5.5 miles (we went around twice – we had LOTS of catching up to do), we finally parted ways.  I headed straight to one of my greatest weaknesses in the world: Whole Foods!

CIMG4442

tuna avocado brown rice roll

vegetarian satay

vegetarian satay stir fry

After lunchie, I organized and packed all my stuff up at my cousin’s apartment, blogged Part One of the weekend and said my goodbye to Angus the Beast with a big ol’ kiss.  Who am I kidding? There was no kiss.  Dogs are growing on me after my childhood attack by my neighbor’s show poodles, but I am not making that much dog progress.  I threw Angus an extra treat instead :).

Then, I purtied myself up and headed off to my friend’s wedding shower.  I’ve known Miss Lisa Soon-To-Be Smith since 3rd grade…we go wayyyyyy back peeps.

15 years of friendship right up in herre...

15 years of friendship right up in herre...

Between the norm present opening and games (which by the way, I broke my 5 shower winning streak tonight, ugh!), I munched some nom nom nom shower food:

CIMG4444

fruit salad, beans + cranberry pasta salad...oh yeah, and a diet coke

plus obv, some marble cake

plus obv, some marble cake

Then, I hit the road for 3 hours of cruising through God’s country Wisconsin, haha ;).  Not before snacking on my fave Lara of course…

CIMG4443

macaroony goodness

It’s been such a busy last couple weeks (and an obv busy day planned tomorrow!), I’ve decided to make some mini-goals for the week to try and re-prioritize to make some time for me to decompress and RELAX!

  • YOGA! I haven’t been to a real class or done a real yoga sequence (minus some stretches here and there) in more than two weeks.  Honestly, I can feel a real difference in my body, and I am dedicating myself to doing two 1-hr. yoga seshes this week!
  • Block out time on the planner – this upcoming weekend is the first weekend in almost two months that I haven’t had anything planned (minus another bloggy meet-up with Angharad, which totally counts as decompressing – in the form of food of course). So, my goal is to keep it that way!  An open weekend here I come – please yell at me if I try to plan anything!

What are your mini-goals for the week? If you don’t have any (which I normally don’t), think of two things you would like to get accomplished this week, and we’ll all make it happen together.  Holllllaaaaa!

So…totes props to you all if you made it through both Part 1 AND Part 2 of this crazy weekend I call my life.  Lots of fun was had, lots of laughing was done, lots of droppin’ it like its hot happened, and I couldn’t be more excited to crash into bed tonight. Tomorrow, I promise I will get caught up on all your lovely blogs and lives ~ until then, happy zzzzzz’s to everyone!

 

29 Responses to “Eat, Shop, Run + Wed, Part 2”

  1. Katharina Says:

    Gimme dat Larabar! Just kidding ;)

    Man, you have had an intense weekend, girl! Yoga and making mini-goals will definitely help de-compress. I think that’s an important thing to think about. It’s funny that you mention the mini-goals because I practice that a lot. I think that with a constant sense of accomplishment of your goals (even the small ones) it leads to less procrastination and more motivation.

    Let’s see.. two mini-goals:
    1. Look for a new harness for Matilda.
    2. Finish packing lol. And move in eeeeeee :D (the internet cannot portray my excitement!)

    Good luck on the interview. I hope you blow them out of the water and I’ll be sending you positive energy!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

    • Holly Says:

      i am a huge mini-goal/to-do lister – mostly because i would accomplish anything if i didn’t :)

  2. burpexcuzme Says:

    WF is evil! It is my biggest weakness too! I waste so much time browsing all the delicious foods there, and spend way too much money!!
    Good luck with your goals, and I hope you rocked that interview!

  3. how fun!!! my mini goal is to…uh….make a mini goal

  4. buffmuffy Says:

    my mini goals for the week are to get rid of this night eating habit (but i think it comes along with the monthly tom lol)
    -muffy

  5. Alison Says:

    OMG I can only imagine how being attacked by a dog as a child has effected you, what a scary thing to experience. I don’t blame you on no kisses for beast though.

    GOOD LUCK at your interview this morning! Picture us all there rooting for you and chanting your name!

    Holly! Holly! Holly! Holly!

  6. leianna Says:

    My mini goals for the week are cut out lots of extra sugary foods in my daily life and do more cross-training to compliment my running!

  7. Besties are great for decrompessing with! :D And so are empty weekends. Those are very much needed, in my opinion!! :D

    How fun that you get to meet up with Angharad again, too!! :D

    Hope you’re doing great…lovin all your delicious eats as always!! I’m such a sucker for the sushi at whole foods too…I need to make a trip ASAP. :D

  8. Looks like so much fun :D I love spending time with friends just doing stuff like long walks and coffee…

    Goals for the week- get everything packed and organised for moving!

  9. Whit Says:

    and the fun continues! Looks like a fab weekend love!

  10. Good luck on the job interview! That wedding shower food looks so good! I love me some baked beans.

  11. ksgoodeats Says:

    I’m just catching up but it sounds like you had quite the weekend! Crazy ones are the best though!! That Lara owns all of the others – it’s the queen :D

    Good luck with the interview, mama!

  12. Good luck with the interview! :)

    I love the WF brown rice tuna avocado roll… It’s soooooooo gooood…. WF is calling my name….

    I like mini goals, but haven’t made any in a while. Here are mine:
    1. Start prepping for my fall classes
    2. Try a new class at the gym

  13. Angharad Says:

    GOOD LUCK for today!! Oooh, you’ll be in there as I type :)
    Hope it goes really well. Good for you on taking some time to decompress, organize, think, chill….it’s necessary!

    I promise food time with Ang will only add to the relaxation party! Can’t wait!

    Mini goals….hmmm…I’m not very good at these. As you know I prefer to think big (i.e unattainable future goals! haha)

    Ok, 1) Look at several apartments so that I can MOVE!
    2) I also am attempting to return to yoga! I want to start going this week. It’s a goal!

    P.S. Well good eats! That WF sushi looks ballin’.

  14. lowandbhold Says:

    Good luck on your job interview!

    Mini goals:
    1. Bake shiz-ton of cookies for my family!
    2. Wake up early Tuesday and Wednesday to get workouts in.

  15. Evan Thomas Says:

    I love the sushi at whole foods. I always feels a little cheap having “super market sushi”, but that stuff is amazing, plus it’s decent priced and I’m not picky with my sushi.
    And my mini-goal of the day is to write a silly little letter for summer reading for the new school year. I should set aside time and just do it, but I’ll more likely just fit it in around baking

  16. janetha Says:

    look at you getting all artsy with the shadow in the first photo! don’t you love how WF offers brown rice sushi? i wish the sushi houses around here would do that~alas, they say no way since it is not the standard for sushi. i woulda kisses angus! right on the mouth! haha. goals~i actually made my weekly goal list in my phone last night, i am a nerd like that. 1. gallon of water a day 2. 3 strength workouts 3. 3 HIIT sessions 4. no BLT’s! too many of those lately (bites licks tastes)

    have a fab daaaay

  17. Faith Says:

    Those brown rice rolls look soooo yummy! Good luck on your interview!

  18. Traci Says:

    Hey Holly! Thanks for the Bday shout out! Looks like you had a great weekend. Mine was awesome too…but very tired on this monday. Congrats on your job offer and hope the interview goes well too! Looking forward to my run later to give me a bit of energy! It always does the trick. Have a great day.

  19. JB Says:

    my main goal this week is to try and de-stress myself from my everyday anxiety. it’s a work in progress! i plan on doing a yoga dvd every day. we’ll see how that goes! and that veggie stir fry looks so soupy and flavorful. yum!

    http://cardiovegsular.wordpress.com

  20. Sarah Says:

    Man, looks like a good weekend! Good luck on your interview today.

    Goals this week… Clean my room just a teeny bit, not buy more food. Uh….

  21. peanutbutterandjenny Says:

    you and your girlfriend look like two peas in a pod .. what a gorgeous pair you are :) and please tell me your glasses have red frames — you are so chic, holls!

    woo woo glad your plannin’ on getting your yoga on tonight! my mini plan is to watch the bachelorette finale tonight.. but it already looks like i’m going to fail — drat!

    let me know how it goes??!
    love!
    Jenny

  22. homegirlcaneat Says:

    DUDE! I have been to WF yesterday AND today for lunch! They had this insane sesame tempeh shiz….I don’t even like tempeh! Well, I thought I didn’t. And this peanuty cabbage salad thing and peanut noodles and HAY-ZEUS it was amazing.

    Tell Fez, Kelso, and Red I say haaaay.

  23. roseyrebecca Says:

    Whole Foods is a weakness for me too!! I like the Apple Pie Larabars!

    http://roseyrebecca.wordpress.com/

  24. Matt Says:

    Good job on the mini-goals. I don’t have any right now, but I will make some :)

  25. caitsplate Says:

    Yay for brown rice sushi! That’s a Cait’s Plate fav :)

    Mini goals for this week? RELAX and ENJOY my vacation in Atlanta! :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.