The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

Slapdash Mash July 16, 2009

Filed under: breakfast,lunch,reviews — Holly @ 14:56
Tags: , , , , , ,

Beware…rando eats ahead!  Since I’m heading off to the Windy City for a ladies’ weekend o’ fun in a mere 1 1/2 hours, I have not replenished with a fresh food stash this week.  Hence, today’s eats so far are a slapdash mash of whatev was left in the kitch.  Starting with brekkie…

CIMG4264

AB + smashed naner + Ezek + cinnamon (x2 of course!)

This beauty held me over for awhile, then it was grazing time!  A little bit of scone yumminess from Bread & Chocolate, one of my favorite St. Paul haunts, courtesy of a coworker…

CIMG4266

1/2 Berry Lemon Scone - have I told you how much I LOVE scones? Because I do.

CIMG4269

Blueberry lovin', and yes, I ate all of them.

I tried this new Kashi dude, courtesy of Angharad of Eating for England, who I met up with last night for a delectably delicious bloggy dinner.  The verdict?  Well, as soon as I opened it up, the sweet smell of coffee wafted into my nose.  That is a good start.  A very good start.  Overall, the bar was really good – it’s definitely not my fave by any means but when you mix chocolate + coffee, you have a winner in my book.

CIMG4270

Kashi Dark Mocha Almond Love

CIMG4277

More gorge heirloom tomatoes...

Banana Nut Cheerios + vanilla almond milk...my CEO called me Cheerio-head when I ate this, FYI.

Banana Nut Cheerios + vanilla almond milk...my CEO called me Cheerio-head when I ate this, FYI.

CIMG4281

Look at those chunks of jelly in my new fave AB+PB+J trail mix from Trader Joe's...mmmmmm!

So, yes – yours truly ate a real slapdash (definition: in a careless or reckless manner) of foods on this lovely Thursday.  I guess that’s what you get when you fall asleep on the couch and wake-up at 12:30 having done nothing you needed to get done don’t plan ahead.  Sorry to make this an extremely uninteresting post, but I gotta run out the door and get my buns on the road to Chi-town ladies and gents!  Woowoo for an early weekend!

 

In the meantime, check out my guest post at No Meat Athlete to get more of your Healthy Everythingtarian fix.  I’ll explore the wonderful world of global vegetarian food… (hint, hint: beer totally counts!)  ;)

 

I won’t be blogging in Chicago, but stay tuned on Sunday for a recap of the weekend’s eats, fun, purchases (shopping WILL be involved) and shenanigans.

Hope y’all have a fabulous weekend!

 

35 Responses to “Slapdash Mash”

  1. Erin Says:

    Oh, I love a blueberry lemon scone, or anything with that flava combo actually.

    Enjoy your fun weekend away!

  2. Angharad Says:

    Have an amazing time in chi-town! Send it my love.
    Can’t wait to see your update :-)

    Love the brekkie (of course) and I am super pumped to try the Mocha Almond bar (and would have done today if someone hadn’t sidetracked me by giving me a bunch of Larabars to try–how selfish…)

    Happy Weekend to YOU! x

  3. JB Says:

    that’s a lot of blueberries! but they’re so easy to eat. i could definitely down that whole baggie. have a fun weekend!

    -JB

    http://cardiovegsular.wordpress.com

  4. jenngirl Says:

    Oh Cheerio-head, have a blast this weekend! Sounds like so much fun :)

    And you might think your eats were rando, but I think they look downright delish! Thanks for the review on that Kashi bar, I’ve been wondering…

  5. Alison Says:

    Hope you have a rockin’ weekend away, can’t wait to hear all about it when you return. Be safe! ;)

  6. justine Says:

    Yum!! Your eats look great. PB and J trail mix really?? I need to check that out for sure my little one would love that!!

    ~Justine

  7. loved your guest post! have a wonderful time in chicago!

  8. ksgoodeats Says:

    The coffee fiend in me just died at that Kashi bar. Must. Buy. It. Now. That scone looks heavenly, you cheerio-head!

    I’m off to read your guest post (mostly because you said beer ;) )!!

    Live it UP in Chi-town!! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  9. Jenny Says:

    ah i see you have perfected my banana butter recipe — how long did it take you? i know i worked on it for days until i finally got it right ;)

    ah yes – the ol’ slapdash syndrome.. happens to the best of us.

    checkin’ out your guest posts NOW!

    safe travels, Hollzzzz xo

  10. Have a wonderful weekend! I’m sure you’ll have lots of fun, and I look forward to reading all about it… ;)

  11. janetha Says:

    what up cheerio buns? oh i mean head.. whatever :) i have never tried a coffee flavored bar, which is strange for me since i am such a coffee lover. i will have to snag that one sometime. and as usual LOVING the PB&A mix.. i can’t wait to get my hands on some more of that heaven in a bag! HAVE FUN IN CHICAAAAGO!!! bring back lots of delicious food photos and drunken shenanigan stories to share :D

  12. traveleatlove Says:

    Love Chicago! Have a blast, and I look forward to reading about it :)

  13. Matt Says:

    You better run this weekend!

  14. runandrejoice Says:

    MMMMMMMM! I will DEFINITELY be on the lookout for those Kashi bars! Give me anything with chocolate and coffee and I am a HAPPY girl!

  15. Abby Says:

    Cheerio-head is surely one of the nicer names one could be called. I wonder how that would go over in England, “Cheerio Cheerio-head!”

    Okay, sorry. I’m tired. Have so much fun in Chicago, blueberry butt!

  16. buffmuffy Says:

    i love snacking all day. it feels more natural :)
    -muffy

  17. Katharina Says:

    Madame Blueberry! Your splashmash dash eats look yummy. I want a co-worker to give me a scone lol.

    Ahh!! Have a blast on your trip! Do some damage and live it upppp. Just watch out for your neck ;) Take care love.

  18. Anne K. Says:

    I love blueberries! We’re going blueberry picking tomorrow, and I can’t wait. Have a great time in Chicago!

  19. slapdash is my middle name…my fridge is EMPTY these days. I’m blaming the fact that I cram it full of spinach without realising that I need other stuff too :P

    Scones make the world a better place. Especially blueberry ones.

    Have an amaaaaazing time in Chicago!

  20. Tay Says:

    Waaahooooo have a fun girls weekend!! Do fun girly things :-)

    Woah woah on that trail mix. I can’t wait to try it!

  21. I’ve been dying to try out the PB&J nut mix from TJ’s…sounds so interesting and delicious! :D

    Have a FUN weekend!! :D

  22. Whit Says:

    I love scones too! banana being my fave. Have a nice weekend love!

  23. strivingforbalance Says:

    that scone looks so good! I need to get my butt over to TJ’s to find that trail mix!!

    hope you have a great weekend!!! :-)

    http://strivingforbalance.wordpress.com/

  24. I’m lovin’ that HUGE bag of blueberries. Is it weird that I like to call them bluebs? Hehe. Enjoy Chicago and eat some deep dish pizza for me. Mmmm!

  25. April (Foods of April) Says:

    Eats look amazing as usual! that trail mix is definitely up my alley!

    Have a blast this weekend! Can’t wait for the recap!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  26. mponz Says:

    hahaha I can’t control myself when it comes to blueberries…I go through them so fast ! What marathon are you training for in October??

  27. Faith Says:

    I hope you have a wonderful weekend away! :)

    I’ve gotta try that trial mix…looks great!

  28. burpexcuzme Says:

    a slap-dash of freaking YUMMY food indeed! That AB+PB+J trail mix from Trader Joe’s look freaking amazing! And I love love love scones too!

  29. homegirlcaneat Says:

    I didn’t know the pbj trail mix is from TJs!@#$% HOLLA Ima go get me some next time I’m thurr!

    I miss cheerios!!!!!!

    Cheerio ol’chap!

  30. Kailey Says:

    smashed bananas are becoming my favorite way to eat them now!
    delicious eats girl!

  31. The Healthy Apple Says:

    WOW I may just have to go out and purchase that trail mix at Trader Joe’s…it looks so goooodddd…

    Thanks for your comment today! Have a great afternoon.

    Best,

    Amie


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.