The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

Just Call Me Martha July 3, 2009

Filed under: breakfast,dinner,recipes,Thai — Holly @ 13:51
Tags: , , , , ,

…or VeggieGirl, whichever you prefer :).

After work, I skedaddled home on a mission: FREEDOM BAKING BONANZA 2009.  Since I finally made to the decision to go visit Barbie, Ken and the family in Wisconsin this weekend, I knew I had to bring some mayjuh treats for everyone to enjoy.  First up, a blondie bananza using Miss VeggieGirl Genius’s basic recipe.  I present…Berry Oatmeal Almond Blondies!

CIMG3952

Then, my personal fave, Almond Joy Blondies (w/ dark chocolate chips, shredded coconut + slivered almonds)!

CIMG3956

Then, I figured it was time to maybe come up with something on my own for a change.  In Wisconsin, where the fam lives, they have a stand at the farmer’s market that sells these amazing cookies.  I’ve been working on perfecting a recipe of my own based off of them, and gosh darn it, I think I finally got it!  I now present to you…Tahini Cookies!

CIMG3967

These suckers are so good!  They are the perfect balance of sweet + salty and come in at about 120 calories (give or take).

While all the treats were a’bakin, I used a glorious bag of homegrown spinach & greens Ellie, one of my co-workers, brought me from her garden to  make a big ol’ salad.  It tasted so good and fresh!

2 big handfuls spinach/greens
1 zucchini, sliced
1/4 avocado, diced
1/4 cup shredded carrots
1 tbsp. sunflower seeds
1/4 cup tomato, diced
Hidden Valley Light Ranch (the best!)

CIMG3958

Even though I sampled bites of batter in the cooking process, I knew I just had to make myself a sampler platter of all the goodies

CIMG3964

Delish.  Delish.  And delish.  The only slight problem was with the berry blondies – I think the water content of all the fresh berries was a bit much for the dough.  In other words, the middle of the batch were pretty doughy.  But still delicious :).

After baking, I raced to downtown, picked my one of my best friend Ashley’s NEW fiancee and went to visit her at the bar she works at in Minneapolis.  Maxx and I had so much fun, and the bar was pretty dead, so we got to talk with our gal Ash most of the night.  Of course, being the stellar lady she is, she hooked us up with free eats and free drinks – dangerous!  I sipped on some new mixed drink they had (maybe drank 1/4 of it) then munched on some bar food – a bit of nachos, some tater tots and a bit of popcorn.  Honestly, I was so full by the end of the night, I was ready to have a little food baby.

However, we had so much fun, and I must have crashed pretty hard because I slept in until almost 10am this morning!  Literally dudes, I haven’t done that in YEARS.  When I woke up, I wasn’t very hungry (due to the above mentioned bar food) so I noshed on a fresh, juicy mango.

CIMG3969

Then I ran a couple errands, including an unplanned trip to Caribou for some joe + 2% milk…

CIMG3970

Who am I kidding?  That was totally planned.

When I got home, I mixed myself up a nice bowl of fresh berries because I still wasn’t that hungry.  How absolutely gorgeous are berries to photograph?  (Warning:  I got really berry happy this morn!)

CIMG3971

CIMG3973

CIMG3974

Then, this gal got cleaning crazy!  I scrubbed the kitchen, cleaning the living room, watered the plants, wiped down the bathrooms, reorganized cupboards and hauled ace in my bedroom.  Again, just call me Martha.

Since I cleaned out my pantry area, I thought y’all might be interested in a look to see what staples I currently have on-hand.  Here is the spread:

CIMG3975

From left to right…

  • Tahini
  • Pomegranate Acai Hemp Protein powder
  • Madras curry powder
  • A tower of brown rice, oat bran + coconut
  • Honey
  • Wheat bran
  • Ground flaxseed
  • Garam masala
  • Peanut butter
  • Evaporated cane juice (aka sugar)
  • Molasses
  • Yummy Earth organic suckers

At around 12:30-ish, I finally got tummy-rumbling hungry.  I opened the fridge and whipped out the last leftovers of my Thai Tempeh Curry.  Still delicious!

CIMG3977

Classy bowl, huh?  Plus a Yummy Earth sucker in pomegranate for after…

CIMG3978

Now, I gots to finish up blogging, run a bazillion errands, finish packing up for the trip cross the border and meet up with Ashley + Maxx (the newly-engaged ones) later for a quick bite before hitting the road home!

I promise more fun from Wisconsin – trust me, my family is uber-weird.  There is good stuff coming ahead.  Plus, I need to get some pictures with Ash & Maxx so you can see just how in love and happy these kids are.  Also, I need to go catch-up on blog reading – so much to do, so little time!

See you later gators!

 

19 Responses to “Just Call Me Martha”

  1. Katharina Says:

    I have been on a baking bonanza as well!! It’s so weird because I usually don’t bake, I mostly cook. Everything looks soo good and I’m sure the fam will be proud! Actually they may even hire you to become their personal chef :)

    Oh and that salad belongs in a 6-star hotel!

  2. VeggieGirl Says:

    Haha love it!! :-D

  3. ksgoodeats Says:

    Almond joy blondies and tahini cookies!? I want!! A bar food baby is like a dirty one night stand but we’ve all been there ;)

    Have fun in the state of cheeeeeeeese!

  4. Jenny Says:

    i think i’ll take the latter and call you Veggie Stewart… ya dig it?!

    sounds like a fun night with your friends — aside from being impregenated with your food baby.. mine’s kickin’ real hard right now as i matter o’ fact.. blah!

    enjoy your night Holly-boo! i would loveeeee to see pics of the happy couple, and your gorgeous self – of course!
    <3 xo

  5. Evan Thomas Says:

    I was already feeling like I wanted to bake something, but now I feel like I NEED to bake something after seeing those tempting treats

  6. Matt Says:

    Good looking blondies! I will have to bake some up!

  7. The blondies and cookies look amazing!

  8. WOOOOAH Tahini Cookies!!! How rad!

  9. Keith Says:

    Flaxseed – nice!!

  10. Blondies and cookies and fresh fruit, oh my!! :)

  11. Angharad Says:

    Your baking bonanza totally inspired me to whip out the cook book but after much consideration I decided it’s too blazing hot in my non-a/c apartment to crank up the oven!

    Have a wicked 4th in WI love!

  12. lowandbhold Says:

    That all looks fabulous! I am a sucky baker! Berries are seriously the Brad Pitt of fruits.

    Have a good day today!

  13. Aren’t sunflower seeds the greatest salad components ever?! Well……not as great as avocados are, but close.

    The berries from your photo shoot are gorg, glad you got berry-happy! :)

  14. Kailey Says:

    wow your blondies looked like they turned out great!
    your berries look so fresh and delicious too!

  15. emily Says:

    Happy 4th of July!

  16. Faith Says:

    Your baked goods look amazing! I love that you used tahini in the cookies, I never thought of that…brilliant!

    Happy 4th!

  17. Anne K. Says:

    Those blondies look delicious! And the cookies look wonderful, too. That’s such a great idea to use tahini! Ahahaha, I love Jenny’s idea: Veggie Stewart ;)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.