The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

Combos + No Shows June 28, 2009

Filed under: dinner,workouts — Holly @ 20:08
Tags: , ,

After the post of just a couple hours ago, I did exactly what Miss Holly needed to do:  I blogged, did my laundry, watered the plants, put away the dishes, cleaned the kitchen and made dinner.  Who am I?  That all sounds way to domestic for my taste :).

Dinner was inspired by my semester abroad in London…you see, one of the popular eats in our flat (ahem, apartment) was some yummy English White Cheddar made into a grilled cheese sandwich and dipped in BARBECUE SAUCE!  It was the genius concoction of my friend Meghan, and we were seriously OBSESSED with it.  Flash forward to tonight, I knew I had to have me some grilled cheese + BBQ sauce, along with steamed asparagus and MN grown cherry tomatoes

CIMG3895

After a delicious dinner, I was sooo excited to finish up the weekend with yoga/pilates.  Unfortunately, Kris (the substitute instructor this week) was not as keen.  She didn’t show up – mondo annoying!!!  Instead, I relied on the reigning yoga queen with 2 run-throughs of Yoga For Runners – making it a quick yet effective 20-minute yoga sesh.

Now I should probably be productive since I have an extra hour on my hands :).

What’s worse – an instructor not showing up for class or a bad instructor?  I am going to go with an instructor not showing up, just because at least if it’s a crappy instructor, you are still getting somewhat of a workout, right?

 

23 Responses to “Combos + No Shows”

  1. Angharad Says:

    I don’t know about that dilemma. I think an instructor not showing up is worse because you never know what you missed out on! If the instructor is bad, it seriously sucks but you can at least give it your all!

    I love your English-inspired dinner :)

    So, you can find that slice of pizza I had last night at Pizza Biga in south Minneapolis. It’s on Chicago and 48th and if you go there on Saturday night be sure to look out for the hairy-faced pizza chef – that’s my husband, Dan! If you go at the weekend, go early since they get kind of dead later on – it’s a real family/neighborhood place.

    I’ve never been to Good Earth. Where is it? I take it you recommend it?!

  2. Matt Says:

    I think an instructor not showing up. That is pretty low!

  3. Whit Says:

    I agree on the not showing up! That sucks!

  4. Katharina Says:

    Hey girl! I think you will enjoy this recipe:

    http://thekitchensinkrecipes.com/2008/03/21/what-we-dunked/

  5. Katharina Says:

    Oh and I think it would be worse if an instructor didn’t show up, because if they suck you can at least always up it to your own standards :)

  6. Not showing up is pretty inexcusable, non?

  7. Ohhh, you’ve mentioned the bbq sauce & grilled cheese combo!! I’m gonna try it soon, promise!! :)

    PS-You should try dipping anything (esp. with melted cheese) in salsa!!! That’s my faveee (nachos, quesadillas, wraps, carrots, and even sandwiches) !

    • Holly Says:

      ohhh sandwich + salsa – i will have to give that one a try. i might start a grilled cheese kick this week, so grilled cheese + salsa sounds mighty divine!

  8. tiponz Says:

    instructor not showing up. my first day of teaching spinning at a new gym is this thursday! i hope im not one of those “bad instructors” hahaha

    that asparagus looks so nice and fresh :)

  9. brandi Says:

    what a great dinner! i need a good grilled cheese :)

    i would say not showing up, too. a bad workout is still a workout!

  10. Ugh…an instructor not showing up would be awful. :( Glad you were still able to fit in a good workout though! :D I love Polly’s yoga for runners…:D

    And YUM to the bbq sauce! :D

  11. ksgoodeats Says:

    Since I just tried grilled cheese and ketchup I need to try GC and BBQ sauce! It sounds SERIOUSLY good!

  12. My sister is planning on studying abroad in London next spring – I’ll have to tell her about your breakfast creation! It sounds like you had a fun weekend – I’m also a sucker for Target. It’s all of my favorite things under one roof: food, clothes, kitchen essentials, books, etc. How can I resist? :-)

  13. and by “breakfast”, I mean dinner. sorry…it’s monday…brain not working 100% yet!

  14. Yes, an instructor not showing up. Uber uncool. Sounds like you found a way to get that pretzel routine in anywho. :)

  15. hahah sorry I have to disagree with you!! Sometimes I’d rather NOT have an instructor than a really bad sub! I’ve had some pretty bad experiences so every time I see a sub, i skip the class and hop on a machine. hehehehe

    Oh man…I love bbq sauce…:)

  16. lowandbhold Says:

    I have that problem with my yoga classes – like more than once a month. It’s so frustrating and it makes me want to try a professional studio, but it’s so hard since I can go to my gym for free and a studio would cost some major bank!

    Good for you for doing it on your own though!

  17. Tay Says:

    O.M.G. genius!! I LOVE BBQ sauce, and anything dipped in it is pure delish. I’ll have to try out the grilled cheese combo.

    I’d have to go with an instructor not showing up, b/c you’d never know if he was bad or not. So I would just be upset all day that he ruined my day/workout plans!

  18. Jenny Says:

    bbq sauce can seriously make any meal 54985904 million times better and cheese makes any meal 94839843 million times better so if i did my math correctly your meal was like awesome x’s a gazillion…give or take a few ;)!!

    loveeeee you my domestic chica!

  19. april Says:

    I agree that an instructor not showing up is worse!

    Grilled cheese dipped in bbq sauce?? I have to try that!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.