The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

Mondo-Filled Fun, Part 2 June 22, 2009

This post needs to start out appropriately…HAPPY (belated) FATHER’S DAY to my dad, as well as all you other dads out there!  Props for always being there when us daughters need it :).

Now, picking up where I left off…

After I finished volunteering at the Special Olympics, I met up with my mom and sisters (who came into town) for some bumming around and shopping.  Of course, we happened to pass up an old-time creamery and stopped in for some afternoon ‘scream.  I got a small cinnamon ice cream…if you haven’t tried cinnamon ice cream before, do it!  It is a glorious combo.

CIMG3771

Not the prettiest pic ever, but remember I was dancing my arse off for 5 hours previously in the raging heat :).

From family time to friend time…me and my ladies got together for a lil’ dindin/baseball game outing.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have time to change to I look like a cross between Britney Spears (during her darker days), a homeless person and a 70’s afro disco dancer.  Whatcha gonna do?  We grabbed dinner at The Loon Cafe in downtown Mpls. where I started things off with a lil’ Leinie’s Honeyweiss (instead of paying $10 a the game for a brew). 

CIMG3772

Dinner was delish too (almost as delish as the beer, haha): Kathryn’s Chicken Salad – coconut-crusted chicken over mixed greens, hardboiled eggs, avocado, tomato, artichoke hearts and dressed with a light honey mustard.  It was really good!

CIMG3773

Then, it was game time!

CIMG3777

We lost…ugh…but we still had some good times – of course, I couldn’t leave without a group shot of all the ladies!

CIMG3778

I went home and slept like I had never slept before.  It was glorious.  “I see Blue.  He looks glorious.”  Name that movie.

Breakfast in the morn was a quick bowl of cereal – my new Tarjay Heartsmart cereal, 1 sliced banana, sprinkle of slivered almonds and vanilla oat milk.  I LOVED the cereal!  It was organic, full of protein & fiber, still had a bit of sweetness to it and all around, delicious.

CIMG3783

Then it was off to the water park!  The lazy river at the waterpark near my aunt’s house is open almost every morning for people to walk against the current (aka killer resistance workout), so my aunt, cousin, mom, sister and I went for an hour-long water walk.  After the hour was up, my legs were done for.  Awesome morning change-it-up.

For lunch, Mommy Everythingtarian and I hit up the grocery store for some (free) groceries + some salad bar.  I mixed up a side salad of spinach, onion, green pepper, cherry tomatoes, hardboiled egg, sunflower seeds, cucumber and balsamic + EVOO, along with a tuna avocado brown rice sushi roll.  Twas’ excellent.

CIMG3784

***Note my mom’s hand already grabbing the sushi before I could finish taking a picture…

After lunch, I got a few things done (including finally blogging Part 1!) and snacked on 1/2 Raw Organic Chocolate Coconut bar along with some mint tea, which is totally my new fave.

CIMG3785

Later, I finally got to see my daddy, wish him a Happy Father’s Day and present him with his gift – card + bottle of yummy red wine + Crunch Bar Blondies!!!  He LOVED the blondies – chalk it up to another VeggieGirl win :).  Everyone totally enjoyed them, including moi – I couldn’t resist one more taste!

Dindin was so-so.  I tried concocting some Thai tofu lettuce wraps in honor of my time teaching in Thailand, but it didn’t come out quite as I wanted.  So, I will leave you with a picture but no recipe until I perfect it!

CIMG3787

Since dinner wasn’t the most satisfying, I dug into the rest of my blackberries and my fave KIND bar (Walnut + Date) for an after-dinner treat…

CIMG3788

After dinner, I headed to my fave Sunday night Yoga/Pilates Fusion class with Yoga Diva Deb, and it felt ah-may-zing!  It was exactly what I needed!  After yoga, this tired gal went home, made herself another cup of mint tea, read a little then crashed like a lil’ baby.

Now, it is Monday morning already, and where does the time go?  What did everyone else do this weekend?  I guess I will find out later for some of you when I get to do some much-needed blog reading.

HAPPY MONDAY EVERYONE!

 

17 Responses to “Mondo-Filled Fun, Part 2”

  1. Sounds like a very busy but fun weekend! I love tuna avocado brown rice sushi rolls!!!!! And the Crunch Bar Blondies sound awesome! Have a great week! :)

  2. brandi Says:

    what a fun weekend! I LOVE cinnamon ice cream – my friends mom used to make homemade cinnamon ice cream that was amazing. I miss it.

    I got a lot of random stuff done this weekend: laundry, cleaning, baking, spending 30 minutes at the pool :)

  3. Jenny Says:

    you are your girlfriends are absolutely gorgeous.. almost as gorgeous as that salad/sushi dinner! just kidding – you’re more beautiful but probably not as tasty ;)!

    Happy Monday, Holly!

  4. ksgoodeats Says:

    I love making my mom grocery shop with me! She buys everything ;)

    Cinnamon ice cream? I NEED THAT! That sounds seriously good! Glad you had a great weekend!!

  5. Alison Says:

    Oh man I would LOVE to do that walking against the current walk for a work out! What a fun way to change it up, I love that.

    Looks like a great MONDO fun weekend! *sigh* Back to the grind. ;)

  6. Emily (Healthy Fit Mama) Says:

    That quote is definitely from Old School! Love that movie!!

  7. tiponz Says:

    yum cinnamon ice cream looks delishhh I am definitely going to have to try that- i am kind of addicted to ground cinnamon! but the pizza dough was SOOOOO EASY to make! I used Jenna’s recipe (http://eatliverun.com/breakfast-recipes/the-best-pizza-dough/) definitely try it out!

  8. Erin Says:

    That cereal bowl is so pretty with the wavy sides!

    Old School!

  9. Katharina Says:

    My friend once made cinnamon chocolate ice cream. It was incredible!

    Have you tried Tarjay’s strawberry granola??

    • Holly Says:

      Ummm cinnamon chocolate ice cream? Yes please! Haven’t tried the strawberry granola but I think on my next visit, I will be trying out more of their cereals. I’m really diggin’ the Heartsmart I bought.

  10. Katharina Says:

    p.s. I know it’s all just writing but somehow you manage to make your posts really come to life! :)

    • Holly Says:

      Thank you so much Katharina! That really means a lot, and thank you for reading/supporting!!!

  11. april Says:

    Cinnamon ice cream?? That sounds like my kind of ice cream! If only I knew where to find some. lol

  12. Kailey Says:

    mm cinnamon ice cream :)
    glad your dad enjoyed his blondies!

  13. You know, I saw cinnamon icecream on the menu at the icecream place I went to over the weekend, but didn’t try it!! Now I’m just thinking this gives me a very good excuse to go back soon. ;)

    Sounds like you had a busy but very fun weekend!! :D Oh, and that’s by far my favorite KIND bar flavor as well…yum!

  14. Glad you had such a fun and busy weekend! Big props for the sunsweet prunes for breakfast – I love prunes, even if I get teased for being a senior citizen :-)

    • Holly Says:

      me too – i admit to being a grandma. prunes, tea, going to bed early – grandma’s have it together!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.