The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

Marathon Training & Helping Heartlinks June 15, 2009

Filed under: breakfast,dinner,lunch — Holly @ 20:07
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So today is day one of marathon training…yippee!  The best part?  Day one is a rest day, hahahaha!

Instead of huffin’ it on the pavement, I huffed it for a good cause today!  Children’s Heartlink is a Minnesota-based nonprofit organization that does work with pediatric heart care around the world.  They send doctors to countries such as India, China, South Africa, Ukraine and Ecuador (just to name a few) to perform heart operations on children who can’t afford it.  They do awesome work, and I was so happy to be able to help out at their all-day charity golf tournament today.

Before I left the house to hit the links, I grabbed one of my favorite breakfasts ever: Peanut Butter + Banana Toast!

CIMG3696

Then it was off to the country club to do my good samaritan duty…

CIMG3697

To start the morning, I worked the registration table and helped sell raffle tickets, mulligans (pretty much tickets that allow you to retake your shot if you mess up) and million dollar shot tickets.  Then, all of us (golfers + volunteers) were treated to a nice lil’ brunch buffet before the golfing began…

herbed scrambled eggs
potatoes
lotsa fresh fruit
banana nut muffin

CIMG3698

After brunch, it was time to hit the links!

CIMG3701

It was such a gorgeous day!  I loved hanging out on the course, selling raffle tickets for a good cause, conversing with people and doing it all for a good cause.  There were so many business and people involved, it really is cool to see everyone coming together.  VitaminWater was there too and had their new VitaminWater 10.  It is 10 calories and naturally sweetened with Stevia (including some other sweeteners which I am not sure if they are truly “natural” :))…I tried the lemonade flavor and totally liked it!

CIMG3704

More golf course prettiness…

CIMG3705

Some afternoon snacks, including a handful of Starburst x2 and a Chocolate Chip Clif Bar.

CIMG3706

CIMG3707

The day flew by, and before I knew it, it was time to pack up all our outside things and bring it inside for the reception cocktail hour.  We headed back to the clubhouse, where we sold the last few raffle tickets and enjoyed conversing with all the golfers.  We had a couple local TV and radio personalities, as well as sports players, which was so much fun!  The cocktail hour was delish - sushi, cheese + crackers, hors d’voeres, spinach artichoke dip – it was all sooo good!  Here’s my plate…

CIMG3708

I went back for a little more spin dip, a couple more sushi rolls and some tomato-mozz sticks.  After munching on some eats, I cleaned up a bit then headed out early, a little bit before everything finished up.  I had a blast working at the golf event today, but unfortunately, this gal still has job applications and other things on her to-do list!

When I got home, I had one of my yummy blondies as motivation to get working :).

CIMG3709

Alright, unfortunately this gal has got to bounce.  There are things to do, places to go and people to see.  Sorry for being a little M.I.A. from blog reading this past couple days, but I promise I will catch up with all your blogs and lives soon.  Thanks for all your support as always – it’s really been getting me through a lot of my days lately!

Hope y’all had a wonderful Monday – see you tomorrow :).

P.S.  My WordPress/computer (not sure which one) is having problems with my photo uploads – can everyone see my photos okay or are they coming up with error messages?  Let me know.  I want to make sure you can see them all!!!

 

17 Responses to “Marathon Training & Helping Heartlinks”

  1. april Says:

    I can see your photos but my computer was having the same problem.. can you see mine??

  2. strivingforbalance Says:

    I just found your blog! Love the name of it!

    http://strivingforbalance.wordpress.com/

  3. Leah Says:

    I can see your photos!

    I’m a huge fan of clif bars.

    Great job for doing good stuff! Plus you got to sit outside in the nice weather – nothing to complain about that!! :)

  4. Yesterday was Day 1 of training for me too, and also a rest day! Today’s the real day one, track workout. My favorite!

  5. Ruthie Says:

    Yes, your pictures are perfect as usual, so good I want a blonde brownie!!

    I love when I can help with a cause. I did the Susan Komen 5K in May. It was very meaningful!

  6. your blondies look fantastic!!!

  7. tiponz Says:

    everything looks delish! i can see the photos just fine– i was having the same trouble as you! I must have re-uploaded pics about 10x!

  8. Jenny Says:

    haha hope you don’t get too whiped from day one of your training routine ;) enjoy your rest girlie girl! I admire you so much for running this marathon.. i could never!

  9. Photos look great to me too! :D

    Good for you for helping out today!! And it looks like it was a lot of fun too (with a lot of good food…mmm…:D)

  10. Just discovered your blog – I love candy – gotta rediscover Starbursts again!

    • Holly Says:

      Thanks for checkin’ me out – I’m looking at your blog right now and it is so cute! I love it!

  11. burpexcuzme Says:

    your pictures are more than fine, they are gorgeous. I love your eats, esp the brunch buffet! I’m having a bit of trouble with my own pics, too. I guess it’s just wordpress problems?

  12. Holly Says:

    April, tpons and burpexcuzme: It must be WordPress, ugh! Hopefully they get it fixed, because seriously, how annoying is it? I’m glad the pics still work though!

  13. Your brunch and dinner look great! I love breakfast potatoes :-)

  14. Good luck on the marathon training. I’ve run 2 marathons, so if you have any questions, I can try to answer them!

    Have a great day!

  15. Kailey Says:

    mm love cliff bars & your pb/banana sandwich!!

    i have been dying to try that Vitamin 10 water! sounds delicious!

  16. Whit Says:

    Another marathon trainee/Clif bar lover! YAY!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.