The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

Walking Lunges are the Devil June 10, 2009

Filed under: breakfast,dinner,lunch — Holly @ 18:12
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

So, remember yesterday when I posted that 40-minute power lunch workout?  Well, if you had any qualms about it not being a workout, think again.  My legs are sore from the tip top of my femur down to the pretty toes of my phalanges.  I was seriously hobbling around today like an old, arthritic grandma!

Unfortunately, I was also up late last night doing some freelance writing, didn’t get to bed until 12:30am (wayyyyyy past this gal’s bedtime!) and had NO chance of making it to yoga this morning.  However, I did redeem myself because last night I prepped a Fitnessista breakfast cookie with a brand new combo…

Cocoberry Banana!
(aka coconut, strawberries & bananas)

 CIMG3594

Before heading out the door, I also grabbed the other 1/2 of the banana I used in the recipe, smothered it with some organic peanut butter and headed out the door to work…

CIMG3596

Work was super productive today – I got everything done on my to-do list (woowoo!) and grabbed a heavenly peach for a snack before heading into a lunchtime meeting (no lunch however :().

CIMG3597

Ain’t she pretty?

After the lunch meeting, I scarfed down lunch around 1pm.  Today was a mix of easy, portable foods since I was in quite a hurry this morning.  First, I sliced a huge Braeburn apple and topped it with more organic PB.  On the side, I brought a baggie of Kashi Honey Sunshine (for all you Cap’n Crunch fans!) and munched on that as well.

CIMG3598

Throughout the afternoon, I snacked on a yummy string cheese (I could eat like 8 opf these at one time when I was a kid!) and some dark chocolate covered raisins.  Perfect working fuel :).

CIMG3599

Since I was so busy, I didn’t even take a proper lunch break and instead, left early at 4pm.  Oh man, what a difference!  Not only did I not hit traffic, but I got home easily in record time.  The best part?  I FINALLY got to take time to make a proper dinner.  This week has been so crazy, I’ve been grabbing random meals here and there.  Tonight, I used my culinary prowess and concocted a little Tempeh Thai Peanut Stir Fry.

brown rice
tempeh (sauteed in canola oil & garlic)
frozen peppers & onions stir fry bag
Lund’s Thai Peanut Stir Fry sauce
green onions, for garnish

CIMG3600

This was actually my first time trying tempeh, and I loved it!  It’s nutty and has a delicious bite I thoroughly enjoy.  Sauteed in that peanut sauce, it was even better!  Tempeh is a great protein source, is fermented (providing more enzymes and easier digestibility) and can be used in a variety of ways.  In a stir fry, slathered with peanut butter on whole wheat bread for a sandwich or chopped in a salad, I am excited to explore the possibilities!

After dinner, it was a hunk o’ dark chocolate to satisfy the sweet tooth beast…

Now, I am back on the run.  Tonight’s to-do list includes:

(1) Finish laundry
(2) Finish freelance writing project
(3) Pick up a special surprise (more to come on that later…)
(4) 9:15pm beach volleyball game
(5) Bed ASAP!

Have a fabulous night everyone!

Also, don’t forget to head over to Miss Angela at Oh She Glows for “Shop 4 A Cause” tomorrow.  Not that we really NEED a reason to shop haha, but she is hosting a fabulous event where you can purchase baked goods (many from fellow bloggers!), specialty items, crafts, jewelry, etc. and ALL proceeds go to the Canadian Cancer Society.  I have my eye on VeggieGirl’s CUSTOMIZABLE blondies so you better not outbid me :).

 

12 Responses to “Walking Lunges are the Devil”

  1. I tried tempeh for my first time a couple weeks back and *loved* it too. I ate it almost every day the same way…”fried” in a little olive oil and soy sauce, put between bread with pineapple and avocado as a delicious sandwich. Mmm…

    The strir-fry looks delicious! I love all the flavor combo’s in there.

    And YAY to getting your to-do list done! It’s good inspiration to get to work on mine too. :D

  2. Alison Says:

    Look at your pretty breakfast cookie! Coconut rulz! Your dinner looks fab too.

    Can’t wait to hear about #3! Hope your legs are feeling better in the AM. ;)

  3. Jenny Says:

    that breakfast cookie looks rockin’! I have to make myself one asappppp!

  4. Alexandra Says:

    Hi there…found your blog through Curly Top’s page :) I am also a health nut…most of the time…being a food writer at work I do have to eat some not so healthy things too :-P

    I love tempeh!! mmm….you can do so much with it!

    • Holly Says:

      ohhh i do a bit of food writing myself – sometimes that food is just too dang delicious to ever pass up. thanks for visiting – i’ve checked out your blog too. it’s awesome!

  5. I love tempeh too! The flavor is ok, it’s the texture that I like so much. It’s the closest thing I’ve found to chicken in say, a wrap with buffalo sauce, or even in a stir fry with peanut sauce (I made one very similar to yours recently).

    I’m trying to come up with some more tempeh-replacing-meat in some classic dishes (buffalo chicken wrap is classic, right?). Any ideas?

    • Holly Says:

      i think i’ll have to play around with it – it definitely needs to be in a sauce of some sort. plain, it just doesn’t quite do the trick. i bet like sauteeing/baking/covering it in barbecue sauce would be amazing. sandwich? stir fry? salad?

  6. april Says:

    Where do you get those raisins? they look delicious! Good job on the work-out! I love being sore. Except I actually don’t like when my legs are sore because it’s hard to workout again!

  7. Madison Says:

    Walking lunges are definitely a killer. But isnt being sore so liberating?!? It means you worked it, girl!!!

    One exercise I hate is the dern squat thrusts on Level 2 of the Shred. Have you ever done those? Sheesh, hate em!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.