The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

Wild Weekend Wedding Wrap-Up June 7, 2009

Filed under: breakfast,dinner,lunch — Holly @ 20:41
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Whew – I cannot believe it’s Sunday already!  I hate how the weekends just fly.

This weekend was SO MUCH FUN!  Since I had Friday off from work, I took full advantage to gets tons of stuff done.  The morning began in a rush however, as I forgot to fill up my gas tank.  Sooo…between getting gas, hitting traffic, getting lost and having no food in the house, I was more than a 1/2 hour late for my 8am meeting.  Ugh!  I hate being late.

The worst part was I had to scramble for breakfast at the gas station.  I was in such a hurry but yet still found an extra 5 minutes to browse the energy bar section for the best pick.  (I guess you know you are a food blogger when…)  I decided on a banana and Powerbar Harvest bar in Toffee Chocolate Chip (which was fine – not bad, not great)…

CIMG3448

 At my meeting, there was a large coffee consumed.  I needed it.  Badly.

When I got back, I snacked on some graham crackers with AB+J while I paid my bills, bills, bills…

CIMG3451

I also took a couple minutes out of my Friday to admire my lovely new pedicure…

CIMG3457

I was so glad I took Friday off – I was so productive and got a lot of things done I had been procrastinating waiting to do for a long time.  Since I knew the rehearsal dinner would be later than I normally ate dinner, I had a bigger lunch to hold me over until then.  Making good use of the rest of my refridgerator, I concocted a black bean salsa (black beans, onion, tomato, cumin, garlic powder, S+P, drizzle of EVOO & lime juice) with some Triscuits, as well as some sweet potato fries, sprinkled with cinnamon and drizzled with maple syrup.  Yummmm!

CIMG3452

 And a handful of dark chocolate-covered raisins (okay, two handfuls!) after…

CIMG3459

 Rehearsal dinner time!

The groom’s family had arranged a FABULOUS dinner cruise on the river.  So, we spent several hours chugging up and down the river, enjoying beautiful blue skies and some cool, refreshing breezes.  Here are all the bridesmaids together before the big day:

CIMG3465

 Dinner was good too!  I loaded up with the following…

small chicken breast
herb butter potatoes (soooo good!)
fruit salad
wheat bun
salad with Italian dressing

CIMG3469

Don’t worry – I didn’t forget the best part: the chocolate-covered strawberries!  My plate had one, but throughout the evening I believe I consumed about 5 or 6 :).  I couldn’t resist – soon they wanted to get rid of the last few and were like, “Go find Holly!  She’ll eat them!”  And I did.

Me and two of my college roomies: Jamie + Jess (one of 3 Jessicas!).

CIMG3470

 Finally…Saturday (AKA WEDDING DAY) came!

To give you a small preview of this ridiculously gorgeous wedding, here is the bride’s AMAZING callalily bouquet…

CIMG3489

And the gorgeous bride herself (along with yours truly)…

CIMG3496

 Just to warn you, I didn’t take any food pictures on Saturday.  Honestly, I was too busy having fun/helping the bride/running errands/gettin’ myself pretty to even think about it.  My food intake wasn’t the greatest (not necessarily unhealthy, but lots of it!).  There were lots of snacks, treats and yummy food though, along with a couple beverages of choice from a certain open bar, of course.

Say hello to the new Mr. and Mrs.!!!!!

CIMG3506

Jess seriously looked stunning!  She was a hella gorgeous bride, and well, Brad didn’t look to shabby either :).

After the ceremony, it was time to get down to business and dance!  I loved the fact that I knew so many people at the wedding – from family to friends to family friends, it was so much fun to see everybody.  Throughout the night, I sipped on a couple glasses of red wine, along with a beer and a mixed drink.  By the end of the night, I was chugging water because we were sweating so much on the dance floor.

Here is another college roomie pic…

CIMG3529

And then it was time to get down…

…and this is Nate.  Nuff’ said right there.

CIMG3546

The group gettin’ low, low, low…

CIMG3551

 Oh man…we literally did not leave the dance floor from about 8pm to midnight.  I woke up this morning to find that my abs, calves and legs are totally sore.  Dancing is a stellar workout – and wayyyyyy more fun than the gym!

This morning/afternoon, we regathered (looking all quite tired, haphazard and joyful from our awesome night) for the present opening.  We were lavished with a wonderful brunch array, in which I downed a couple pancakes, some mini cinnamon rolls, lots of fruit and two cups of coffee.  Oh man, I felt great after that brunch!  After present opening, it was lots of catch-up errand running and whatnot, as well as the movie Up (which you must see – it’s adorable!).

Since I ate all that around noon, I wasn’t really even hungry until dinnertime.

My appetizer (carrots + AB)…

CIMG3559

The main course (Kale Chips, the genius invention of Miss Kath)…

CIMG3561

And dessert (Stonyfield Farms Raspberry Lemonade lowfat yogurt with raspberries)…

CIMG3563

Unfortunately, there is no bedtime for me yet.  I still have lots to catch-up on (including LOTS of blog reading!), and so this girl has got to skedaddle.  Thanks so much for reading, hope you all had wonderful weekends, and I will finish catching up with you all tomorrow.  Stay tuned for some exciting news later this week too!

Sweet dreams!

 

7 Responses to “Wild Weekend Wedding Wrap-Up”

  1. What a FUN weekend!! And I totally agree, dancing is way more fun then the gym. :D

    CUTE pedicure too! Love the color!

    And, of course, all the food looks delish too! Glad you had so much fun! :D

  2. april Says:

    cute toes!! You and your girlfriends look so cute! And the bride is beautiful!

  3. Emily (Healthy Fit Mama) Says:

    Looks like a fun time! Dancing is such a great workout! :-)

  4. Jenny Says:

    you and your girlfriends are stunning =) glad you had such a great weekend!

    cute pedicure, girl!
    happy monday <3

  5. Amy Says:

    What a fun weekend! Great to see you again Hols!

  6. Ruthie Says:

    Holly, What fun and you looked absolutely beautiful! I love weddings and getting to hang with family and friends.

    Your salsa looked great, we have something kinda like that a lot in the summer. I will try the sweet potato fries, they looked super.

  7. Holly Says:

    Thanks for all the wedding good wishes everyone :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.