The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

It’s the freakin’ weekend June 4, 2009

Filed under: dinner,lunch — Holly @ 20:30
Tags: , , ,

For me at least :).

This weekend is the big wedding weekend, so naturally there is tons to do between now and Saturday, for example, manicures and pedicures!  But again, we get ahead of ourselves, let’s start where we left off this morning…

After a busy morning, I grabbed a quick, healthy on-the-go lunch from Kowalski’s, my neighborhood upscale grocer.  Their salad bar is FABULOUS!  Today, I decided on a small side salad (spinach, beets, carrots, tomato, sprouts, 1/2 hardboiled egg, golden raisins and sunflower seeds with a drizzle of balsamic + EVOO) along with a variety pack of brown rice sushi (veggie roll, crab roll, some other roll with seafood).  I downed the whole delicious thing.

CIMG3443

There happened to be peanut butter cookies (my fave!) in the break room today…dangerous territory!

CIMG3444

After work, I had a buncha errands to run, so I kept myself fueled with a slew of snacks.  First, it was a Chocolate Chip Clif Bar (really good!) on my way to go shopping…

CIMG3445

Then it was a little trail mix while I was shopping/running errands/reading magazines at the drug store (I can’t help it – it’s one of my true guilty pleasures!).  I ate about 3/4 of the bag (3 servings?)…

CIMG3446

Then it was manicure/pedicure time with my lover Jamie!  Nothing like getting primped with your girls!  Woowoo – I don’t get these as often as I would like, but man, those hand and foot massages are the best.  When I was teaching in Thailand, we would get manis & pedis for like $3 and 90-minute (yes, an hour and a half!) foot massages with pressure points for like $5.  My quality of life definitely went down when I moved back home to the U.S. of A. :).

Now, I am back home, relaxing and enjoying some honey graham crackers with a little bit of crack aka raw almond butter.  What can I say?  I’m addicted!  (Plus, it’s one of the few remaining foods left in the kitchen!).

CIMG3447

Now it’s off to check more off the to-do list and get ready for a fun-filled wedding weekend!!!  No work tomorrow – give it up!

Do you love weddings as much as I do?  I’m sooo excited!

 

10 Responses to “It’s the freakin’ weekend”

  1. Weddings are so much fun, aren’t they? :D I have one coming up in July and can’t wait. Hope you have tons of fun!

    And the mani and pedi sound absolutely wonderful! :D

    ENJOY the weekend! :D

  2. april Says:

    A mani/pedi sounds so good! I got a pedicure recently but its looking like I need a new one! What color did you get? How about a design? I’m glad you had a good day!

    • Holly Says:

      i will post pictures later today – promise! the color and design are very wedding-like :)

  3. Traci Says:

    Awww yes I love weddings! So much fun and everyone is always so happy! I have the Charity event that I (and 3 colleaugues) have been planning since February on Saturday. Have raised about $180,000 for Dana Farber Cancer Institute so far. Praying for sunshine since it’s an outdoor event. Have fun at the wedding! :)

    • Holly Says:

      that’s awesome! the charity event is going to be so much fun – i am actually volunteering for one soon too.

      i’ll cross my fingers for sun – have a good weekend!

  4. How was brown rice sushi? The rice is what makes sushi so good (for me), I’d be scared to mess with it! I just had sushi last night, with sweet potato in one roll and banana tempura in the other… weird but good!

    • Holly Says:

      i actually LOVE brown rice sushi! the brown rice adds a little nuttiness to it – i prefer the brown to the white (not even b/c its healthier, but i like it!).

      i’m going to have to try your sushi combos sometime :)

  5. Melanie Says:

    Just dropped in; I’m loving your blog! I’m going to add you to my blogroll so I can keep up with you:)

  6. Leah Says:

    Can’t wait to see a recap from your weekend!
    I made a reference to your ‘everythingtarian’ diet today haha.
    I love that term.

  7. I need to relax and get a manicure!!! lol


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.