The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

This and That June 3, 2009

Filed under: this and that — Holly @ 13:23

Happy humpday everyone!

It’s that time of the week again – here is your latest installment of “This and That”:

Need a reason to go hoofin’ it today?  Look no further because today is National Running Day!  Tie up those shoes, put on those workout clothes and head out the door to enjoy a fabulous run.  Whether it’s 1 mile or 10 – take those strides and lead a healthier, happier life!

In the grand tradition of create your own fun, head on over to YouBar where you can not only create your own personalized nutrition bar but also your own protein shake and trail mix.  You better bet I will most likely be doing some concocting while at work when I get home tonight!  I think I am going to with: organic vanilla rice protein, organic bananas & strawberries with a Stevia infusion.  Yummm!

As farmer’s markets get going this spring and summer, it’s time to bring out the ol’ list of the best foods to eat organic. (Click here for a complete list…but here are the top 5 worst pesticide offenders (aka buy these ORGANIC, if possible!):

  1. Peaches
  2. Apples
  3. Sweet Bell Peppers
  4. Celery
  5. Nectarines

Since June is a new month, I thought it was only appropriate for a new challenge (no worries Bobbi, I am still going to try and lead The Simple Life!).  Sooo…I hereby pronounce June as YOGA MONTH!  Anybody want to join me in deepening their yogic skills, centering their chi and enjoying all the benefits of our fabulous friend yoga?  Let me know, and maybe we can set some sort of fun plan up!

I leave you all with a lovely picture of me giving Ronald McDonald an appropriate Thai hello (called a ‘wai’) on our way to Pattaya, Thailand…

CIMG3357

 

7 Responses to “This and That”

  1. Jenny Says:

    woo woo for yoga month! finally – a challenge i can DO :)! who knew ronald was a fellow yogi ;)!

    have a great wednesday Holly!

    • Holly Says:

      yeah for yoga – i want to try a new kind, maybe anusara? i’ve hear good things. bikram is on the agenda soon!

  2. april Says:

    Happy wednesday! That ronald mcdonold is too cute! lol

  3. Emily Says:

    Maybe I’ll challenge myself with a run today in honor of the running “holiday.” I haven’t run in months…

    Cute post! :-)

  4. Thanks for the must-buy organic foods list. Only since cutting out meat have I had room in the grocery budget for organic foods, and eating them feels fantastic.

  5. I’m totally interested in learning more about yoga…although I have to say I’m a total newbie with it. I do some basic moves (and LOVE it) and can’t wait to learn more. :D

    Love the picture! :D


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.