The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

Bummin’ Around May 31, 2009

Filed under: dinner — Holly @ 21:32
Tags: , , , , , ,

I love those Sundays when you have nothing to do and can do anything you want!  They don’t come often, so I try to take advantage of them.  Today after breakfast, I met up with a hilarious friend for some coffee/hot chocolate (coffee with 2% milk for me, hot chocolate for him :)).  He seriously puts me in such a good mood – he’s that dang funny.

An hour and a half later, I got back and felt like running.  I genuinely wanted to go running, and the fact that it was like 80 degrees, sunny and gorgeous out didn’t hurt either.  Tackling a nice 6 mile loop, I ran the first 5 miles then walked the last mile, enjoying the smell of yummy lilacs and basking in the sun (with a lil’ SPF protection of course!).  When I got home, I wasn’t super hungry and just made up a small snack plate to munch on while I stretched.

1/2 cup carrots
1.5 tbsp. raw almond butter
1 Cherry Pie Larabar (finger-food style!)

CIMG3376

After running, I showered up and ran some errands to the usual, gas + Target.  Then I came home, cleaned up a bit, got some shtuff done on the computer and put away my laundry.  I know, a party, right?  Late afternoon, I concocted Green Monster #3 aka The Winning Recipe!  Yep, it’s official: I’m addicted.

1 cup Oat Dream oat milk
1 banana
1 cup frozen tropical fruit blend (pineapple, mango, banana)
1 large handful (2 cups) spinach
1 handful ice cubes

You are looking at perfection…

CIMG3381

Since I was quickly running out of things to do (LOVE when that happens!), I took another walk.  It was probably about 1.5 or 2 miles, but when the weather is soooo nice out, I can’t be inside.  Blame my mom for ALWAYS telling me as a kid, “It’s too nice out to be inside!”  My guilt continues today.

For dindin, I concocted a super easy pasta dish to use up some ingredients I had in the kitchen.  It was penne pasta with olive oil, garlic, sundried tomatoes and spinach.  Simple and delicious.

CIMG3383

And for dessert…

CIMG3385

After dinner, I decided to head over to my favorite Sunday yoga class with Deb.  Today I definitely got my fill (plus some!) of exercise, but if you can’t tell, I have a slight problem being bored and really can’t stand it, haha!  Since I had nothing left to do (and TV really has crap on these days), I headed to center my chi and stretch my body.  My mind was extra monkey-like today, and I didn’t focus too well, but by the end I was feeling better.  Maybe that was because I had this on the mind…

CIMG3386

Got home from yoga/pilates combo class and had 1/2 naner with some almond butter, especially with a nice cup of mint tea!

Now I am off to shower, crawl in bed and conk out – tomorrow is already Monday!  Hope you all had a good weekend!  See you bright and early tomorrow for a return installment of Holly Investigates… (cue dramatic music).

 

10 Responses to “Bummin’ Around”

  1. I think it’s funny that you say you actually wanted to go running. I know the feeling. I mean I love that I run, but the actual running isn’t something that I look forward to. Except on those few special occasions like you are talking about.

    When you make these green monsters, are you getting the recipes from somewhere or making them up? I’m a big smoothie drinker but I usually just add a few greens to a normal fruit smoothie.

  2. Holly Says:

    I swear, those good running days (the feeling that you get!), make it all worth it!

    Usually I just make them up as I go along – a bit of trial and error. I like to think throughout the years, I’ve become somewhat of a smoothie master :).

    Hope your race went well!

  3. tiponz Says:

    yum that green monster looks delish– especially in the guinness mug :) – definitely my new addiction- the green monster i mean, not the guinness hahha…hope your enjoying the day :)

  4. Erin Says:

    LOL, girl. Hey, maybe you shoulda exercised yesterday if you were so bored. Oh wait, You Did! I’d be konked out too, after all that movement. Your heart and body must be thankful tho.

  5. […] Holly from The Healthy Everythingatarian  She wrote, “And it was delicious – super creamy thanks to the addition of another green […]

  6. Kelly Olexa Says:

    Just found your fab blog from Oh She Glows. LOVE IT HERE! I bookmarked ya and put a link on my page. Aren’t you loving Green Smoothie land? bliss. Green Bliss.
    have a great Monday girl!! Love your blog. ;-)
    Kelly O

    • Holly Says:

      Thanks Ms. Kelly! I just found yours too! I opened it up, saw a picture of a very good looking guy and immediately knew I would love your blog, haha!

      Hope you have a fabulous night~

  7. Ohhh yummmm….that banana snack is making me drool. Delicious! :D

  8. sweetkaroline Says:

    Yum greeeen monsters are so goood, definitely making one for my breakfast tomorrow:) Glad you had a day to do whatever you wanted, those days are the best aren’t they!

    • Holly Says:

      Totally – I think I’m addicted to green monsters too. I’ve already planned out mine for tomorrow morning – hope yours is delicious as well :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.