The Healthy Everythingtarian

finding a better balance in exercise, food and life

The rice, the rice, the rice is on fire! May 30, 2009

Filed under: lunch — Holly @ 18:08
Tags: , ,

After breakfast, I checked the schedule for my yoga class and lo and behold, there was no more 11:30am yoga class!  Good thing I checked – it must have been my intuition because I ever rarely check class schedules; I just assume they are always on.  Instead, I ran a couple of errands – headed to the bank and then ran to the grocery store for a $10 grocery run.  Yes, that’s right, 10$!

Since I know I am going to be super busy next weekend with wedding #2, I didn’t want to buy a full set of groceries, so instead I am going to (yet again) try using up what I have, plus a couple more staples.  I picked up a big bag of spinach, bananas, carrots, 1 can of black beans and this new product…

CIMG3368

Polly and Kath – you can have your favorite yummy oats in milk form!

Here are the stats:

Serving: 1 cup (120 calories, 3 g fat, 3 g fiber & 4 g protein)
Enriched with vitamins A,D,E, B12 and calcium
Lactose & dairy free, 100% vegetarian

I will let you know how it is when I try it – since I’m keeping it low-key tonight, I’m thinking of a second try at a green monster perhaps?

After errands, I came back and did some little things around the house before starting on lunch….cue dramatic music.  So, yours truly thought it would be a fabulous idea to cook up a batch of brown rice for the week.  You know, prepping ahead?  I got the pot of rice and water together, let it boil then reduced to a simmer while I parked my butt on the deck in the glorious sunshine.  Well, the sunshine was just soooo intoxicatingly warm, I didn’t realize I had forgotten about my rice until a funny burnt smell suddenly tickled the little hairs in my nose…

I darted up, ran into the house at super sonic speed and grabbed the pan immediately off the stove.  I opened it to find a half-burned pan of brown rice.  Ugh!  Fortunately, about 1 cup was salvageable, which I consequently used to make a fabulous Mexican Brown Rice Bowl for lunch.

1 cup brown rice
drizzle of EVOO
pinch cumin, garlic powder & S+P
1/2 cup black beans
1/4 cup sliced green pepper
1/4 cup diced onion
1/4 cup mild salsa
dollop of Greek yogurt
1/2 diced avocado

Layered all together to make this…

CIMG3351
Oops – in the midst of the burning rice insanity (I definitely had to open the windows :)), I totally forgot to take a picture of this colorful, delicious lunch!  Honestly, the rice actually added a nice smoky flavor to the dish.  Who would have thought?  Afterwards, I munched on a TJ’s fruit leather.

CIMG3352

After lunch, I met up with my sister for a nice hour-long walk through some trails at our old elementary school.  Looks like somebody else was in the mood for a walk too…

CIMG3359

Suddenly, out of nowhere, my sister Alli and I saw this HUUUGGGEEE turtle just scooting along the path!  Poor thing, I hope he found his way home.

After the walk, we decided on a day like today, there was only one thing left to do: go get ice cream!  We headed to Cold Stone Creamery, where I got the Berry Berry Berry Good with Sinless Ice Cream (made with Splenda).  I’m usually not one to get the artifical sweeteners, and honestly, I wish I hadn’t.  My sister’s Berry Berry Berry Good with the Sweet Cream Ice Cream was soooo much better!  Oh well, you live and you learn.

CIMG3364

I don’t what to do with myself the rest of the day – all my friends are busy, my family doesn’t live here, I don’t have that many things left on the to-do list.  I’m not good at being bored – help!!!!  Have any fun ideas (that don’t involve money) I can do tonight?  Let me know!

 

4 Responses to “The rice, the rice, the rice is on fire!”

  1. Ruthie Says:

    I burned rice a couple of weeks ago, ewww, the smell was baaad and was not edible. We Plan B’d it and just had chicken and veggies.

    I have to admit I would rather a few bites of the “real” thing than most low calorie things.

  2. Jenn Says:

    whenever me and my friends are low in cash we always just stay in and watch movies or play Scene it :) haha.. lame, i know.. but oh so fun!

  3. saleblan Says:

    I’m the same way. After school finished, I couldn’t wait to be bored. But now that I have had the chance to get bored on occasion, I just want to be *busy* or have something (anything?) to do. Especially at night when I’m used to staying up late, studying.

    Let me know how the Oat Milk is!! I’ve been tempted to buy it a couple times, but have always grabbed soymilk instead. :D


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.